Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you fly a camera drone where there is no cellular service?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GeoJetson, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm looking to buy a Phantom 3 to fly over a ranch that is in the middle of BFE with sketchy to zero cellular service. Is it possible to navigate without WIFI or cellular service? Any advice would be appreciated. This is my first post.
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes most of the time I fly in airplane mode which disables WiFi and cellular network.

    Cellular network at site may be needed in case you like to see the maps of your location and you didn't cache them before.
     
  3. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you.
     
  4. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have a device recommendation for connecting to the controller? Tablet or whatever?
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I use iOS devices so picked up iPad mini. Any version 2 and above is ok, higher the better but needs more cash out :)

    Go for a device that has GPS else you will miss out few features.
     
  6. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, again. I searched the threads and came upon the discussion with lots of folks suggesting iPad Air 2 cellular. I will look into these options.
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You will be surprised that people have even gone for huge sized iPad Pro and are enjoying it. I have also seen many fly with iPhone 5/6
     
  8. Chris0137

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    17
    I use a 9.7 Galaxy tablet, no cellular service needed.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,836
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    US
    You can find a list of recommended and commonly used phones/tablets here.
     
  10. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you. I went with the iPad Air 2 with cellular.
     
    GKPK likes this.
  11. GKPK

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New York
    Good choice, I use it also.
    Works great with the P4
     
  12. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the standard mount on the RC accommodate the iPad Air 2, or do you need some aftermarket fix?
     
  13. GKPK

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New York
    The standard mount fits the air 2 perfectly with maybe a half inch to spare.
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,836
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    US
    The mount can hold a device up to 6.75 inches wide. The iPad Air 2 is 6.6 inches wide.
     
  15. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you.
     
  16. GeoJetson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    My iPad Air 2 is, yes, just at 6.6 in wide. So, this should be fine. Thank you.
     
  17. trebordet

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use an iPad Pro 12.9 with cellular (with a bracket extender). When I fly I put my Tracfone/Verizon SIM from my Galaxy S6 phone into the iPad Pro and that gives me web access (no voice or SMS and that's OK) so the maps are updated wherever I happen to be (and where there is cell service).