Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can we fool the phantom 4 into thinking it should go FCC mode?

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by borgqueenx, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. borgqueenx

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    14
    Im in europe so im limited by the maximum range alot.... I'm wondering if we can do a modification to make the device think we are not in europe and enable FCC mode?
     
  2. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Change your settings to US.
     
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,133
    Likes Received:
    7,322
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It's not possible since it uses the Phantom's GPS to figure out where it's located.
     
  5. borgqueenx

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    14
    Changing settings to new sealand for ios seems to work, a amateur with hardware to pick up signal strength confirmed this.
    He could not test this for android though.
     
  6. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    Where did you read this?
     
  7. borgqueenx

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    14
    Will link tommorow dont have the link on my iphone. Hopefully someone here can confirm it then. Was quite a post (in dutch) so i dont think he was fooling us.
     
    StevenQX likes this.
  8. Stealthmatt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    141

    Please report back, I have looked on the net and cant find anything.
     
  9. Shaiful Rizhuan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    27
    No, not possible. I have tried fooling my phone to think it was in USA, in an NFZ specifically. But the flight will follow the bird's location and it fly like it always did.
     
  10. Shaiful Rizhuan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    27
    But if the FCC and CE mode really depends on the Phantom's GPS, why they have EU and US version shipped to those respected regions? I got mine EU version. I thought they got different hardware?
     
  11. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,995
    Likes Received:
    1,923
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    i believe it's the charger mains plug, etc.
     
  12. Shaiful Rizhuan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah.. I read somewhere, they got different dbi on their antenna. Higher dbi on FCC version
     
  13. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I think that's software controlled though. Plugs are the only difference
     
  14. jwt873

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Woodlands, MB Canada
    Yes -- The specs show the USA version has an effective radiated power of 23 dBm (0.2 Watts) and the EU version is 17 dBm (0.05 Watts).
     
  15. borgqueenx

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    14
    Here is the article:
    Security Check Required
    if you cannot see that link because you're not in a group here is a copy paste:
    A quick translation says that the p4 has 20% less transmitting power, and that when setting your iOS device to NZ that the p4 transmitting power is equal to the p3 - Meaning that It goes into the different mode.
     
  16. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    So if i understand well I've to set my device localization to new Zealand?
     
  17. borgqueenx

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    14
    yes but he only tested this in iOS. not in android.
     
  18. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    In android if it works it is even easier. I can make the dji go app think that device language is NZ and keep my device in my language

    I use this method even for 32 channel hack to fake US settings
     
  19. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,995
    Likes Received:
    1,923
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I wouldn't 'hang your hat' on some anecdotal evidence from NZ.

    Government regulations mandate these parameters and DJI has come up with some very clever ways to ensure their products comply.

    Good luck to you but I remain doubtful.
     
  20. Loïc29360

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello borgqueenx,
    So, do you find a way to force your P4 in fcc mode ?
    By the way, which is your country ?
    Thanks.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - fool phantom thinking Forum Date
Saw a fool flying a Phantom over a 4th of July parade. General Discussion Jul 4, 2016
DJI releases Phantom 2 Vision Plus (April Fool's) Phantom 2 Vision Discussion Apr 1, 2014
Introducing the DJI Fool Introductions Jan 7, 2017
How close to the bravery / foolhardy edge? Photos and Video Jan 1, 2017
Foolproof startup procedure for P3P Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 17, 2016