Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can the phantom 3 4k camera replace the vision plus camera?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by grant schwabrow, May 24, 2015.

  1. grant schwabrow

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering if i could replace my vision plus camera with the 4k camera. Thanks
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
  3. grant schwabrow

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone tested this? Is it because the wires are not compatible?
     
  4. Hasan Ahmad

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    30
    No but it can replace the phantom 3 advanced camera
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Almost everything about the Phantom 3 series is completely different from the P2 series. Only prop guards are interchangeable.
     
  6. grant schwabrow

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend took off his Phantom 3 Camera, and I installed it on my Vision Plus. Everything worked completely normal
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Well there you go. You can learn something new every day.
    That should make for some interesting hybrids.
    But after flying with the P3 app, you get spoiled and can't go back to using wifi.
     
  8. michael phantom vision +

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    how did your friend hook it up because the vision 2+ has 3 plugs and the vision 3 has 2? please explain cause I want to replace mine and the vision 3 is cheaper then the vision 2+
     
  9. andrewdoc21

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    any updates on this?
     
  10. livejon

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd also be very interested to know if a P3 Camera (any of them) can be used to replace the V2+ camera because I'd love to get rid of the fisheye. Anyone tried this? It seems a reasonable upgrade ... if it can be done.

    I'm also considering swapping out to be able to use my Sony RX100iii, because I already have both the Phantom 2V+ and the Sony RX100iii. Dronexpert | Quickrelease Sony RX100 mount (Vision+)

    The RX100iii conversion is expensive, but the images would be a significant improvement. Anyone tried either of these options?
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
    P3 cameras are not compatible with the P2V+.
     
  12. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    As we are at that kind of discussion, does anybody know if the camera of the P3S can be mounted on the P3A ?
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
    No. They are not compatible.
     
    Dronason likes this.
  14. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ok, thanks