Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can I use a Fubaba 8FG with a P2 ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by RogerClark, Mar 1, 2014.

  1. RogerClark

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I have a fault on my stock RC transmitter, it looks like I need to replace it with a futaba, probably something like an 8FG.

    I've seen a video on YouTube about updating a Phantom 1 to a Futaba 8FG, but it looks like there are more RC options in the Phantom Assistant software on the Phantom 1 than there is on the Phantom 2.

    Do I just connect the SBus connector on the Futaba receiver to the Naza and it will work ??
    i.e does the Phantom 2 use SBUS be default ?, as I can't see any options to set this in the P2 assistant.

    Thanks
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I'm almost certain you can use any Futaba with the P2 non-vision, it would be absurd if DJI didn't offer that ability!
     
  3. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    You might want to wait, Futaba is discontinuing the 8 and releasing a 10 series.
     
  4. RogerClark

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank EMCSQUAR

    Thats interesting.

    I wonder what price point would be. i.e I'm just after a unit to replace my defective DJI RC system, so not looking for anything fancy, which is why the 8FG series seemed to fit the bill, i.e I need at least 7 channels
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I think that's a 10J which would be the new top end for the J series possibly replacing the 8J. I haven't heard anything about the 8FGS being discontinued.

    For the OP, if you're looking to set up an 8FGS with the P2, I've created a how-to here: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=8358
     
  6. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK

    Hi Roger, yes it's that simple. There are two cables that connect to the stock receiver. You just need to remove the one at the 'front' and plug it into the SBus on the new receiver and it'll work. The second cable is for the Zenmuse tilt on Channel 5 however this is already handled by the SBus so you can just remove the cable.