Can home wifi cause issues?

Reaction score
I am new here and planning on getting a P4 or newer (whenever it is coming out), but anyway I am curious about wifi issues. Do home wifi's interfere with the drones? I do computers for a living and live in the country near a lake. But I sorta out did my wifi. It covers several acres of my property and of course do not want any issues.

I have several access points running on my ham radio tower radiating is 300 degrees on 2.4 GHz and no problems. I have even flown my Phantom 4 right up to the antennas for closeup inspection and experienced no issues.
Good luck
Jim

Glad to hear... mine is broadcasting up to 1.5 - 2 acres on the 2.4 GHz. If you are not having a problem with that type of power and proximity. Then technically I shouldn't.

Yeah, I am using High gain Sector antennas. Not sure what the gain is but I would guess at least 12 dbi. I doubt you would notice any problems. It seems that Phanroms have a very selective receiver. I sure would like to see a schematic of it. I frequently fly my Phantom 4 from my location out to 7,500 feet with 100% signals most of the time! I am using the parabolic reflectors on my stock antennas and they do work! Gotta commend DJI on their RF engineering even with their crummy support staff.
Jim
WA5TEF

Glad to hear... mine is broadcasting up to 1.5 - 2 acres on the 2.4 GHz. If you are not having a problem with that type of power and proximity. Then technically I shouldn't.
The Go4 app will tell you which channels are busy in the 2.4ghz band. Just click the HD icon and select a channel far way as possible from busy channels (usually chan 20). Then slide the "Transmission Quality" down to 4mbps to maximize your flight range.

Reactions: AndrewCCM and JHB
John...
Thanks I will take any tips that I can. Like I mentioned in the post, I haven't even gotten a phantom yet, but trying to figure everything out prior.