Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can a quad do this?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GearLoose, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it possible to expand the Phantom's GPS function so that it can fly a pre-set route or go to a specific waypoint?
     
  2. jdawson

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is not currently functionality for the brain (NAZA-H) that is in the DJI Phantom.
    However DJI makes a brain unit that can do this called the WOOKONG-M that can.
    So if you built any quad that had one it would have that functionality.

    http://www.dji-innovations.com/products ... /overview/

    Quads built with that sort of functionality are generally more like $2000 as a rule of thumb.
     
  3. BadWolf

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, New Hampshire
  4. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    ADVISE: if your "Quad", could do that.. Instantly it becomes an UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle), which has strong regulations, requires FAA permissions and in general can't fly in 80%+ places :eek: , so.... Still want it?
     
  5. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    jumanoc: Am I correct that the UAV restrictions you mention would therefore apply to the upcoming iPad/IOS app?