Camera settings, what iso do you use?

Reaction score
What settings do you use, and why?
I see a lot of footage on here and youtube etc, in poorly lit situations, yet still good footage.
My attempts so far end up grainy and washed out.
What's the secret?

I am by no means an expert on photography or shooting videos but here is what i use.
I have my white balance on custom and set to full. I had many washed out pictures until i played with this and found i get the amount of color I like with white balance all the way up.
I set my ISO as low as it can go if i'm shooting on a sunny day. If its rather cloudy or i'm taking pictures in shadows, i might turn my ISO up a bit.
I usually take multiple pictures of the same thing while varying the shutter speed each time. Since i can't see my phone screen too well on a bright day, I have multiple exposures to see on my computer and can pick out my favorite. Since you can't really do this with a video, I would just suggest picking the best exposure you can based on what you see on your device. Investing in a higher quality video processing software can allow you to get the desired results if the drone can't get it.
I don't use any color corrections. If I am not happy, I use Adobe Lightroom to make some fine adjustments to colors in pictures.

All this is for daytime shots, I haven't done any evening or night flights lately so I don't have any recommendations for that.

Here is a shot using the above settings.
DJI_0005.JPG

Shoot the lowest ISO you can get away with, detail and saturation is reduced with increasing ISO regardless of the scene illumination.

For video this will be as low as you can go while staying at or above double the frame rate for shutter speed.

For stills, hovering in low wind you can go out to three seconds exposure time with a good number of keepers (subject of course to whether you have moving elements in the scene and motion blur would be undesirable).

The lower the ISO you can achieve the better.