Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Camera seems to be tilted.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by out_droning, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi guys.

    I conducted an IMU calibration on a completely level surface (dining room table) and also conducted a glimbal/camera calibration a few days ago.

    Since then, it feels like my camera is tilted. If I'm taking a picture of the horizon, it appears the horizon is going from shorter on left to bigger on right. So the camera is tilted to the right I'm assuming?

    Is there some sort of issue i'm having or should I conduct the IMU and glimbal/camera vibrations again?

    Not sure if this will assist but it feels like when j launch the drone, it doesn't hover and stay in the one spot, it tends to drift back and forth about a metre or so, or even dips a metre or so before re positioning. I don't remember it being so loose as to speak before I did the IMU/camera calibrations.

    Can anyone give me some advice on what to do?

    Cheers.



    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  2. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    273
    2 things:

    Not sure what you mean about the horizon being "shorter" on the left and "bigger" on the right. Do you mean the horizon is closer to the top of the image on the left side? If so, then your camera is tilting to the left, not the right.

    WHY did you do an IMU calibration?
     
  3. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    What I'm trying to get at with the horizon thing is that all my pictures I take, I use the grid box. If I'm looking say at the horizon with something underneath, it appears the right side of the horizon is tilted down compared to the left.

    I did the IMU calibration because I updated the firmware on the drone. I was told IMU and camera calibration is needed after that?

    I didn't think IMU calibration was that big of a deal?


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  4. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Actually, I just read that the IMU calibration should be conducted with no other electronics, magnets or metal nearby. I did the IMU calibration on my loungroom table which has these things within a few metres of the drone.

    Could that causing it?


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    I think you're referring to the compass calibration.
     
  6. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    So IMU calibration doesn't go by the same theory? If I was to find a completely level surface in my house (I live in an apartment) and let it calibrate, electronics, magnets etc would not effect the reading?


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    No.

    For IMU calibrations, make sure the surface is completely level (meaning you checked it with a level). And, make sure your Phantom is not disturbed while the calibration is running.
     
  8. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks. Would it be wise to remove the rubber landing pads from the bottom of the craft before conducting the IMU calibration? They appear fine and I haven't had any rough landings with it.

    Also, by disturbed do you mean picked up or moved whilst calibrating?


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    No. It should calibrate fine with them attached.

    Your Phantom needs to remain perfectly level during the calibration process. That means you should not move it or walk around and cause the floor to vibrate (thus causing your Phantom to move). Just sit tight and wait for the calibration to finish.
     
  10. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay. Appreciate your quick response. I think the issue with my camera tilt is a bad IMU calibration I did ( must not have been completely level ). I'll get back to you soon with results of new calibration.


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  11. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    I did my last IMU calibration while the AC motor hubs were level using a piece of glass (picture frame or something similar) across all four motors (insert sheets of paper under the landing legs for a perfect horizontal alignment).

    But even then, the horizon is still 0-1-2° tilted.
     
  12. out_droning

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Smart idea. I think the other concerning thing for me was the amount of movement my drone was doing just hovering. It was like it was in a gust of wind yet, there was zero to minimal wind. From what I've read, that's a result of a bad IMU calibration.


    Out Droning Photography
    --------------------------
    • Instagram: @out_droning
    • Facebook.com/outdroningphotography
     
  13. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Sorry if I missed something but did you tried to manually correct it?
    If it is constant during the flight time, it can be corrected.
    Capture.PNG
    Or maybe there is an old non zero value.
    Last year there was an issue with that but it has been, at least for me, solved in the firmware.