Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Camera problems

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Skyfly101, Aug 2, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay so when I want to record or take photo the buttons on the all glitch and become late while everything else still works. Tried deleting and reinstalling. What should I do? Is it a problem with my app? The phantom?
     
  2. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    How long is the delay? Have you tried reformatting the SD card thru the app?
     
  3. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I cleared the cache delay isn't bad and no. Does reformatting delete all the files in the card?
     
  4. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Yes it will delete the contents of the files and reformat. I would suggest that you back up your content on the card to your computer. Then reformat.
    It is possible that your card could be the problem as it can cause the delay that you have if it is close to full or has some corrupted sectors on it.
     
  5. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay thanks. I'm getting some new cards soon. What do you reccomend?
     
  6. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    And now I'm having compass errors?!?!?!?!?! What the heck is going on. I Think I got the camera fixed but now these compass errors or coming up. Shoud I exchange my drone? Does anyone else get these a lot. Is it where I'm flying?
     
  7. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Try changing your location or recalibrate the compass. Also consider doing a cold IMU calibration as well.
     
  8. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay. What exactly is a "cold" imu calibration
     
  9. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
  10. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Perfect Thank you so much. I will try the fridge method first and get back to you
     
  11. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I didn't follow that link yet, but I think the fridge method is not a good idea, moisture and its only going to speed warm up times. Anytime I have done it just on a normal day outside. Just when the bird is cool.

    I like this link myself.
    IMU Calibration

    Rod
     
  12. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Too late. Lol it actually works well I only had it in for 5 minutes. I love where it is normally 115 degrees Fahrenheit out but thanks to storms it cooled the weather done so I was able to fly I'm the morning and at night. But the imu has to reach temperature and just sitting outside for more than 2 minutes heard the bird to 40 degrees Celsius And then every flight I have to wait for it to reach that which takes about 10 minutes and by then the camera overheats.
     
  13. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Hum, yeah, just scanned through it really quick, I had read that one before, somebody else states in that thread not to put in the refer. There was one thread the guy put in in his freezer and for got about it. Took it out and had frost on it, so he waited tell it thawed out (condensation dissipated).
     
  14. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lol that's his fault for forgetting it in the freezer.mine was in their for 5 minutes. I have flown it since and it works fine.
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    So are problems gone?
     
  16. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    And it was in the fridge not the freezer. My state isn't very humid at all. So humid is not a problem
     
  17. Skyfly101

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes the problems are gone I spoke with a dji employee and they said it was the ad card and sure enough a new ad card fixed it. Thanks for the help
     
  18. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Dude, you most know how to type, you answer to fast.
     
  19. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida