Camera/lens optimization service??

Reaction score
There's a few good threads on how to adjust the camera board or lens. And I'm almost willing to open up one of my P3s to try to improve the image quality.
But I'm no expert and my fear is I may make things worse rather than better.

Is there anyone in out community who REALLY knows what they are doing specifically with optimizing the camera - and would do this for a fee?
I'd consider sending one of my P3s for this.
Yesterday I took my main bird out for a test as I'll be traveling next week and hadn't flown since November.
I've always felt that this one (an new camera after a crash) was not as sharp as it should be.
I did a few shots around the area and looked critically at them and see that things in the foreground from day 35-60' height are quite sharp. But buildings in the background - in this case maybe 300/500' away seemed not tack sharp.
I did a few frames pointed straight down from same height and corner to corner and middle of cats & parking lot I was over seemed pretty **** sharp. I was expecting maybe off on one side or the other.

So, conclusion is, maybe lens is not perfectly focused for infinity. Which means popping the whole lens & board assembly out, breaking the locktite on the lens threads and adjusting.

I'd rather pay someone- who is experienced- to do this.
A tweak on the board screws is simple. The lens adjustment not so much.

So- anyone....?

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

hi sir...I've broke the locktite on my p3a advanced lens and turned it slightly ccw and have found considerably sharper images across the frame...but have yet to resurcure the lens to mount that gets screwed to sensor board.

my images were soft on the edges and somewhat better in the center.

I think I've found a good combination of sensor board placement and focus from lens onto the sensor.