Camera, ISO, Noise....Confusion

Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm a decent amateur photographer. I shoot with a Nikon, and generally thought I have a pretty solid understanding of how exposures work (ISO vs Shutter speed vs Aperature). I would always shoot with ISO at 100 for sunrise and sunset. With my Nikon, I've never had any issues .

Shooting on the phantom drone, however, has been quite difficult. Many of my photos, while shot at ISO 100, have insane amounts of what I assume is noise in the shadows. I've uploaded a sample JPG here. I under exposed the photo slightly when I took it, because previous experience with my DSLR has shown I can easily increase it in LR, without risk of blowing out any color.

Here, slightly increasing the exposure just destroys the blacks with noise, and I don't see why. I don't know if there is an issue with my camera, or I'm just missing out on something else.

Attachments

• 20151225-DJI_0088.jpg
    20151225-DJI_0088.jpg
    8.3 MB · Views: 750
1. Your Phantom has a tiny sensor and is not in the same league as your SLR particularly with dealing with low light
2. That sample has a big range from very bright to near black - it's asking a lot to deal with that dynamic range - more so if you were at ISO 100.
3. To handle a light/dark subject like that, it's probably better to shoot a bracket of 5 and combine them in HDR software to get detail in the shadows and highlights

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

For what it's worth, I don't want a well exposed foreground, I just wanted enough detail to make out the tree silhouettes. I guess I was mainly worried there may be something wrong with my camera, but it sounds like I just need to toss out my old rulebook and write a new one.

Thank you for taking the time to respond.