Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Calibration of p3p

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by jake88, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. jake88

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Was just reading another forum and someone said u don't need to calibrate the phantom every flight even in different locations.....I thought the whole point of calibration was to pickup satellites that are close to u and to set a RTH point.if I don't recalibrate how will the phantom know where's it's new rth is?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
  3. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    RTH is set when you spin up the motors or when you set a dynamic RTM point. It has nothing to do with calibration

    Satellites are picked up when the P3 is turned on and again, has nothing to do with calibration.

    The above info, as with 99% of the info on PhantomHelp.com is great
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,698
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Calibrating the compass has nothing to do with RTH location.
    Your Phantom's GPS works out exactly where it is from GPS satellites without you doing anything.
    Doing the compass dance allows your compass to understand the local magnetic environment it has to work in.
    Once you have a good compass calibration, if you don't change things on your Phantom or travel more than 100 miles away, there is no need to recalibrate the compass.
     
  5. jake88

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    7
    So how does it know where to rth at a different location?
     
  6. jake88

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    7
    So should I go out on some big flat in the middle of nowhere and calibrate that way I know there is no interference and use this calibration from there on?
     
  7. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    if you had a ipad air tablet when you arm your motors you would hear the sexy ladies voice say" homepoint has been updated" I drove 50 miles from my last homepoint yesterday....no problems. Flew 5700 ft out and back in gps mode.
     
  8. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Every time you turn on the P3 and spin up the motors is sets the home point.

    A big open flat?? Not really. Just not on concrete or pavement, and away from anything metal by more than 10 to 15 feet. The middle of an average yard for a house is good.
     
  9. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Doesnt matter what tablet you use, they all run the same app with the same voice
     
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You should be away from all metal and anything that could affect the compass. Don't set it on concrete-- as most of that is reinforce with wire or rebar-- don't set it on or near your car or vehicle-- the field doesn't have to be big. You will receive a compass error if you are near metal.. so if it calibrates, you should be good to go.
     
  11. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Where I fly from at home is grass. Saturday I had a dumb bed trailer in the driveway, about 20 feet away, and got a compass error. Had to move about 30 feet away to clear the problem. Never expected a trailer to cause that much of a magnetic field. But its something to think about while doing your calibration.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  12. Sky*viewer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    "if you don't change things on your Phantom or travel more than 100 miles away, there is no need to recalibrate the compass" .... Are you sure about this statement ? I have read you have to recalibrate your compass every single new flight location .
     
  13. jake88

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a twister quattro drone/quad and the manual as well as the YouTube video say calibrate before every flight...
     
  14. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    I have flown all over the place, max distance traveled was about 90 minutes, and the only time I ever has a variation that asked for a compass calibration was near the trailer Saturday. Once I moved away from it everything was fine
     
  15. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    It sure isnt going to HURT to do it every flight, beyond the public humiliation from doing the chicken dance to calibrate
     
    Dronason and Tedv like this.
  16. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    my nexus 6 didnt have the voice
     
  17. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Everything I fly with.. 5 devices, are all the same. But I didnt ever have anything older than a version 1.1
     
  18. rmfa

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    61
    If I go over 100 miles away from the last calibration point I will calibrate but not otherwise. I've logged over 150 flights w/the P3 with zero issues.
     
  19. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,698
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Yes .. I'm sure.
    DJI are over-conservative in the manual and fail to explain what constitutes a different location.
    I've tested it with lots of flights for 1.5 years.
    The DJI guys that drop in from time to time confirm that this is no problem.
    You do not have to recalibrate your compass every flight.

    There have been more than enough tales of calibrate-every-time flyers getting a bad calibration that has caused grief.

    Read this to get an understanding of what compass calibration is all about:
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/compass-calibration-a-complete-primer.32829
     
    Dronason and Tedv like this.