Calibrating Compass

Reaction score
I'm new with my Phantom 3 Adv and have a question about compass calibration. The manual says that the compass should be calibrated anytime I move the take off point to a new location. My unit seems to not need that - each time I turn it on, it tells me that the home point has been set and the map shows my current location every time.

I cannot find any tutorials about this that are dated beyond 2015. So, have there been updates to the drone or the software such that calibration is not needed each time?
Thanks in advance,
Bob

These are 2 different things. The meaning of "move the take off point to a new location." means somewhere new magnetically. like a different town. You only need to do a compass calibration when you fly from somewhere different, by say, 20+miles or so. Once you do a compass calibration at a good place and it works, then shouldn't have to do it again.

The home point is something completely different. It is the GPS location, that the Phantom records, as a "home point" ( the "where do I go if I loose connection and need to do a RTH )

When Should I Calibrate?
You do not need to calibrate before every flight and in some cases you definitely should not calibrate. That doesn't mean you shouldn't ever bother doing it. It only takes one time for it to go very wrong. The most important aspect of compass calibration is making sure the magnetic "neighborhood" around your Phantom is consistent between calibration and during flight.

IMPORTANT: The ideal place to calibrate is an open field with nothing metallic in a 20ft radius. Keep away from drainage pipes, irrigation systems, rocks, etc.
• DO Calibrate
◦ Mod value out of whack or compass error reported (check area first).
◦ Circling in flight or not flying straight (also check for other possible causes).
◦ New equipment added or removed / new firmware installed.
◦ Location change (greater than ~250 miles).
◦ Significant change in terrain (e.g. to / from mountains).