Caff's first 48 hour question thread

Reaction score
So.... I now have my P3A!
Yay!

I'm all geared to bin the roots and calibrate a hundred things... But figure I'll have some questions along the way.

First, before I do anything, I snuck a peek in the box on the train home and the gimble lock plastic was quite definitely not locked in.
I'm sure it's fine and it's certainly not visually broken (although I'm no expert). Is there anything I should check on it before I start pulling things apart and doing all the prep that should be done. I'm guessing the gimble protector is often dislodged though.

It falls off easily because of the 2nd white tab that is also on the gimbal to keep it stationary. Without the 2nd holder you'll be able to put the gimbal lock on and it won't budge....again it's just with both items on the gimbal it barley locks.....mine was in place until I started to remove it from the original box and at that point it fell off.
It's probably fine but you will be the final judge of that.

Cheers! I'll get her set up and find out.
First flight tomorrow! (too dark tonight).

Ok. Checklist:

- Battery charged.
- Firmware upgraded on quad.
- Firmware confirmed as already up to date on controller (must have been 1.1.8 no update in 1.1.9).
- Gimble move sensitivity reduced.
- Phantom chilling ready for IMU and level surface found for gimble calibration.
- Tinkered in the sim. (Meh)
- Checked out the various setting options in app.
- Tested gimble stability and video.
- About to do stick calibration.
- Need to read up on the gain/evals/curves for the controller and tx channels.

Am I missing anything before taking off on my maiden votage in the morning?

Ok. Checklist:

- Battery charged.
- Firmware upgraded on quad.
- Firmware confirmed as already up to date on controller (must have been 1.1.8 no update in 1.1.9).
- Gimble move sensitivity reduced.
- Phantom chilling ready for IMU and level surface found for gimble calibration.
- Tinkered in the sim. (Meh)