Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Caching Maps.......how much data?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FASTFJR, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    How much data from google maps can be cached? Square miles? I'm trying to figure out how much I can. I have shoots at 3 different locations
     
  2. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Good question. I shot from 4 different locations over the weekend and cached them all. I didn't even consider how much information I was storing. Might be good to know.
     
  3. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Cache your sites, turn off wifi/cellular, open google maps and see if you've still got tiles for your sites.
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Well yea I can do that. I was wondering how much data (size) is stored?
     
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    A tiny fraction when compared to your overall storage space, but I believe it's 10MB per map, which should pretty much get you around 350 sq miles. But you can cache multiple maps (at least in Google maps, I'd assume Go just piggy backs the gmaps api)
     
    FASTFJR likes this.
  6. Toddzilla

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Central VIRGINIA
    Question:

    I've not done this before and assume you "cache" by just opening up the g-map in the area of interest. Does one "save" the cache with some specific keystroke, or is it saved automatically?

    Also, if one wants to cache a "satellite" google map of an area of interest, should one zoom in for greatest detail and then move up and down to cover the entire area of interest OR can one just zoom out and encompass the entire area of interest in one screen?
     
    Brad Pierce likes this.
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Cached automatically just by looking at it.
    Yes. Generally street level is high enough since you won't be flying far enough to need to see state borders. :)
     
  8. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Thanks!