Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Caching Maps for the Vision App for IOS or Android?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by bergenfelter, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. bergenfelter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the "Find My Vision +" setting in the mobile app - how do you cache the maps so it shows your location and the bird superimposed on the map? Otherwise it is just a blank grid with your location and the bird?
     
  2. kymedic121

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, Ky.
    You will need to cache the maps of the area you are flying prior to starting a mission. To cache a map, as soon as you get to your location open your Phantom App and enable the Ground Station setting and then open your camera and swipe the screen to open the GS map, by using your providers network internet connection (do not change to Phantom wifi yet) it will allow the maps to load and cache of your area. Once completed then close out and then change your Wifi settings to the phantom and proceed on as usual.
     
  3. bergenfelter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you - once I have cached the map - do I turn ground station off again - or does it not matter?
     
  4. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    It doesn't matter.
     
  5. dwjs1974

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you like you can supply the internet connection via Bluetooth share... I use my nexus 7 connected to Bluetooth to my phone for internet share... Works well to get maps :) be aware blue tooth runs over 2.4ghz could cause interference with video stream
     
  6. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    There's a great idea. My Nexus 7 is WIFI only, so I can't load maps in the field, otherwise... :)

    Tanx...

    -slinger