Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cache non gps tablet

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by Carlpembroke, May 23, 2016.

  1. Carlpembroke

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    51
    Im thinking of getting iPad mini 2 wifi to use with P4, how would I cache maps before I go out as it won't have gps or am I just being stupid ?
     
  2. Fly Dawg

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Watkinsville, Georgia
    With the Go App, I think you will need to be somewhere near the area you plan to fly. Power up and idle while connected to Internet. Zoom in, Zoom out around your flying area. Then turn off. Maps should be cached. Don't quote me on that, but works great with Litchi from anywhere.
     
  3. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    161
    Enable cache map option in Go App, then in this app, at home, tap on small map window to full screen and position to the area you will fly real. And zoom and scrill all directions around the area.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Carlpembroke

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    51
    Unconnected but I'm using my Samsung s4 at mo and every time I switch it on the map is always in Nigeria, what's that all about ?
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,588
    Likes Received:
    4,676
    Having or not having GPS i your tablet is unrelated to having maps on your tablet.
    Post #3 above explains how to cache maps over wifi.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,588
    Likes Received:
    4,676
    That sounds like your phone is starting up with all zeros for its location perhaps?
    0°00.000N 0°00.000E is a point about 600 kilometres south of the coast of Ghana or 800 km SW of the coast of Nigeria in the Gulf of Guinea.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Cache non gps Forum Date
Precision landing & video cache Phantom 4 Pro Help Yesterday at 6:29 PM
My Footage is stuck in the cache in the Phantom Controller. Phantom 4 Discussion Wednesday at 3:20 AM
cant cache maps anymore ?? Standard/4k Discussion May 29, 2017
Aircraft connect to RC in order to map cache? Pro/Adv Discussion May 28, 2017
Camera showing disconnected after resetting cache and reinstalling app Phantom 4 Help May 24, 2017