Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cache Map?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Horton, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. Horton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello, in the general settings of the app what does "cache map in the background" do? Will this allow the map in the lower left corner to actually show map details (more than an empty grid)?

    Thanks
     
  2. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    allows you device to cache the map so you don't need cell service or wifi when
    Just open map when you have wifi zoom to area you will fly and then go fly no cell service needed
     
    #2 skyhighdiver, Jun 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  3. Horton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    So if you want the map to show you need to be running on either wifi or 3G (linked from phone)?
     
  4. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Yes but linking from phone has been said not to be the best idea as can Cause control issues due to 2.4
     
  5. Horton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    I see. Maybe ill just keep using what I have been using then. Thanks for your help!
     
  6. Steve Moore

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    There is no evidence that supports that in ANY way. 10 people can be standing next to each other, all with cell phones in their pockets, all running 2.4 gig transmitters with returning telemetry and no one has issues. Why would we mysteriously have an issue with a drone in a far less flooded situation?

    The "grid" only showing is because the map defaults to roads only. There is a setting to change the layers on the full screen map to use satellite or hybrid maps as well.

    You do want to have an active proper map to work off of in case of a fly-away at very least. You can navigate yourself to the last know point of the drone.
     
    Horton likes this.