Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cables

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by shu~fly, Aug 13, 2016.

  1. shu~fly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    First time posting. I have a phantom 3 standard and just ordered the dbs antenna. I had seen and read on here about some of you using the heavier blue cables. I think some have said they will also help on distance. My question is where to buy them at? Thanks in advance .


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  3. Ohiowoodsman

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    Shu-fly don't bother me! lol Yes, the blue ones. That's what what all the cool kids r using
     
  4. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is the benefits of using these cables?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Ohiowoodsman

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    The quick easy answer is signal strength
     
  6. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    You have to be careful with the blue rg402 cables if you plan on taking them off and on..they dont like being bent or twisted. I would suggest using rg-58 instead or some good low loss cable...they arent cheap but well worth it in my opinion.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G730A using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Oh i would use rg178 for the inside cables as well instead of the thin ones that come with the kit!

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G730A using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Ohiowoodsman

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    R they easily damaged? There's 1 on mine l had to bend quite a bit having no 90's on hand
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well if they did I would be out of luck c.jpg The others are better as Pro said these I just found these when I did my first one .
    Also I never remove my panels . The cable's he mentions went in the trash . Don't know why they send such thin ones for inside the TX .
     
  10. shu~fly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Yea just be easy with em and try to leave them on there instead of on and off.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G730A using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. juliandid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    would all 3 antennae cables the same length work ? 8" or 6" with dbs panel
    would you happen to have a link handy. the ebay site mentioned above does not have those.
     
  13. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    I got mine from aliexpress so it takes awhile but I stock up on them! where are the sma's coming out from the RC? I used 6" with straight RP-SMA Male to right angle SMA Male. Ill look for the links
     
  14. shanek

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kildare,Ireland
    guys im looking for these rg178 cables for inside my rc but having trouble finding them. does anyone know what the little push on connector is called so i can search.thanks

    got it. their U.FL connectors
     
    #14 shanek, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  15. Ohiowoodsman

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    USA
  16. shanek

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kildare,Ireland
    thanks for that woodsman much appreciated your time
     
  17. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Yep Ohiowoodsman is right...those are what I would use but you only need them 16-18CM long
     
  18. juliandid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for that link to the good cables.
    if you to guesstimate the cable length, to go straight from the transceivers (u.fl end) and out the original antennae hole and right into the DBS antennae, (with a 90 degree end ? ) - how long would the cables have to be?
    I'm thinking :rolleyes:, why am I adding another connection to the mix.
    I could put a rubber grommet in the hole at the end of the RC and drill and slice little cable ports through it. The dbs's clearance away from the RC should have enough room to curve the cables into position, no?
     
  19. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I went with 3 long cables so no junctions to worry about (loss), & no holes drilled in the TX. ;)
     
  20. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    His don't look as good as mine though .
    He's looks like ...well lets just say being_sick-3298.gif
    running jack.gif Just messing Julian . His does look and work good . The less connections you have the less signal you are going to lose .