Buying advice for a newb

Reaction score
Hello all. I am Rachel from South Florida. A complete and total Newb. Recently retired and just about ready to buy myself a Phantom 2 as a retirement gift to myself. Though I have read a lot, I do have a question or two. I am tempted to go with one of the top end bundles from BH Photo (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... black.html).

I am a long time BH customer and their service is terrific.

I guess my first question is whether or not to go with a bundle or start piecing together a bundle on my own? My other question is about using my Ipad as an FPV monitor. Any suggestions or advice on my purchase?

Thanks in advance!!

Rachel

WOW. That's some serious tech if you are just getting into the aerial photography. Good on you and you will love it!!!

How techie are you? If you buy all DJI, then everything is plug and play via the FPV HUB. On the other hand, the package is great as the vendor tests and trains you. The training is worth its weight in gold if you declare yourself as a newb. They are easy to fly - and easy to crash because confidence is builds up exponentially.

You also need to ask yourself if you need the Bluetooth Ground station. The BT GS is 2 way communication for programmable way point flying.. I don't own it or use it as I don't trust the autopilot. I'm 99% on the sticks unless the RC battery dies.

And the Ipad wont be able to be used as FPV unless you step-up to a $1000+ lightbridge system.

There is a cheaper alternative that offers the same functionality - A hybrid P2 Vision Plus with H33D and gopro.

You might also want to look at the Phantom 2 Vision + which offers a complete, ready to go, out of the box solution without the tech tinkering necessary with the plain Phantom 2.

Mako79 said:
WOW. That's some serious tech if you are just getting into the aerial photography.......

There is a cheaper alternative that offers the same functionality - A hybrid P2 Vision Plus with H33D and gopro.