Buy local or on-line?

Reaction score
I’ve been flying a P2 for almost 2 years. I’ve had a few minor crashes that I repaired myself because it was easy and spare parts were readily available.

I’m thinking of getting a P3 or I1 and understand that for either product, they have to be sent back to DJI for repair. Possible exceptions are prop replacement and maybe a few other very minor repairs (but not sure).

I thought if I purchased the P3 or I1 through a local DJI authorized retail store, that I could have them do the repairs within a few days, but understand that even they return the UAVs to DJI.

Given the 1-2 month DJI repair turn around time I hear about discussed on this forum and questionable customer service, I wonder if there is any advantage to a local retail purchase over an on-line purchase. I don't need helping learning to fly, this is all about help when/if I need a repair or I have a FLY AWAY. Are they just going to tell me to return it to DJI?

In case it matters, there are 2 DJI retails store in San Diego where I am located.

Rich

If I had a Hobby shop near me that's where I would go just to support a local business but that's just me .

Reactions: BlackHawk388
I was lucky enough to have the best of both worlds. Bought my P3A on Amazon from a shop local to me, then went in and picked up in person. Buying through Amazon, I didn't get charged sales tax, even though it was a local store.

I'm on the fence. I like doing local business but when it comes to warranty their is no question since I bought it from DJI and it have the paperwork from them. It seems there are very few and I repeat very few local shops that can do authorized warranty work so it goes back to DJI regardless.

Personally, if I had a local shop who had the ability to repair or replace an item of this cost, I'd use them without question as long as they were a reputable store.