Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Burned out Boscam TS352 FPV Transmitter

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by damoncooper, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Frak. I turned on the P2 without the Tx antenna attached and burned out my TS352.

    Anybody know if there's a way to jury rig this thing to revive it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Anybody have this happen to them?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Happened to my buddy. Had to replace it.
     
  4. ScottH

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Never, ever run a transmitter without a load (antenna). I knew that and still cooked mine when I forgot to attach it when updating software.
     
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My bad. Waiting on delivery from Hong Kong in the Caribbean on vacation. Chances of it arriving before vacation runs out: 50%. Frak.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    Get the TS353 400mw, its lighter, but remind to never turn it without the Antenna...

    Boscam TS353 400mw: http://j.mp/1gJ6t7s
     
  7. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  8. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this just last week with an avl58. I forgot to put the antenna in and started up the p2 to check the compass values. Some time after doing this I realized what I'd done I was really freaked out. When I checked it out nothing seemed to be wrong with the transmitter, I was surprised... But then again the avl58 has a fan on it maybe that saved it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    The TS-352 has a fan on it as well. By the time I checked however, the unit was scorching hot and the fan was dead. Just a little red power light remaining, reminding me of my transgression. :)
     
  10. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ooh, maybe you should get the AVL58 then, I don't know why it survived but it did. I do have a boscam ts832 I've bought and just have it sitting doing nothing (I was gonna offer to sell you it, I'm in the Caribbean but I saw you had ordered a replacement already). I was planning to switch the AVL58 out, sure glad I didn't have that one installed when I left the antenna out.

    I am afraid I will repeat this mistake again. Maybe we should install a switch on the transmitter or bullet connectors so we can switch out components at will.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thx Almmohd. Definitely a checklist item going forward!!
     
  12. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grr dang it, I did it again. Video was breaking up at about 200m when I brought the phantom back there was no antenna. Thought it had fallen off only to realise I hadn't put it on in the first place :(


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. WessexWyvern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought I had a fool proof way of not forgetting to put an antenna on my transmitter before flight - indeed it actually worked like a charm - to a point. However for some reason up until a few weeks ago it never cross my mind that I also need to put one on when I do firmware updates, calibrations and generally mess around with settings in the Naza assistant. As a result I have probably had my transmitter turned on for at least an hour, possibly 2 hrs in total and amazingly it still works fine right the way out to 950m with a cheap clover leaf antenna. So if you're like me and are likely to do something stupid with your transmitter I'd recommend using a 5.8 ghz Immersion RC 500 mw, it would appear they are bullet (and idiot) proof. :mrgreen:
     
  14. Haze

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    2
    immersion 600mw is great, i have forgot a few times to put the antennas on it and turned on, it has never burned out, and i had it off for an entire update once, like 20 min (prob have done it like 4 times) i kept forgetting. But it still works great. I dont recommend doing that lol but i find the immersion doesn't get as hot as the others as fast maybe that helped?
     
  15. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I downed my first P2 and when I replaced it I put the Tx to the other side so the antenna went out diagonally opposite the compass. Then I cut out a bit of foam in my case near the leg and I never have to take it off. Problem solved!

    Pics below.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. WessexWyvern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Far too logical!!! :D