burned bluray in 1080 and 4k both looked horrible

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am still learning both the drone and video editing. I made a short clip flying my P4P this afternoon and did a minimal color grade with FCPX and color finale the attempted to burn a bluray to play it on my 1080P TV using an xbox one to play it. The footage looked fine on my computer but I tried making 2 blurays, one 1080P and one 4K and both looked horrible on my TV. The original video was in 4K at 24 fps and a 1/50 shutter speed. The 1080P video I burned straight from the share selection in FCPX. The 4K one I exported as a master file which I burned using Toast DVD. I assume there is some step I'm missing.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

The first two questions I would have are, what country you are in (relevant to video standards), and what were your render settings from your editing program?

I'm not aware of any conventional Blu-ray players that can output 4K video, and if you don't have an Ultra-HD TV it would be pointless anyway. Certainly some of the crappiness with the 4K disc would be the player or the TV doing a poor job at downconversion.

Hi all,

I am still learning both the drone and video editing. I made a short clip flying my P4P this afternoon and did a minimal color grade with FCPX and color finale the attempted to burn a bluray to play it on my 1080P TV using an xbox one to play it. The footage looked fine on my computer but I tried making 2 blurays, one 1080P and one 4K and both looked horrible on my TV. The original video was in 4K at 24 fps and a 1/50 shutter speed. The 1080P video I burned straight from the share selection in FCPX. The 4K one I exported as a master file which I burned using Toast DVD. I assume there is some step I'm missing.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

Nobody can tell you anything really meaningful until you tell US something meaningful.