Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

BTU inside P1?

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by neilp1, May 12, 2014.

  1. neilp1

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. Have searched for hours but can't seem to find info on any adverse effects of mounting the BTU module permanently inside the P1 case. Anyone know if there will be control issues with the 2.4ghz?

    I plan to hook up the PMU v2, iosd mini and btu inside the case. However, If I need to keep the btu off the quad while flying, obviously I'll need to mount the iosd mini to the outside to make it removable. I'd prefer a cleaner install though.

    I will not be running a gimble any time soon, if that makes a difference.

    So, other than the small weight and power penalties, any reason I can't plan on a totally internal install for the iosd mini and btu?

    Cheers!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    5
    No control/interference issues, but the BTU module has an internal antenna that needs to be somewhat exposed to receive and transmit, and the range isn't all that great to begin with. There aren't a lot of places inside the shell you could stick it and have it not be occluded by the battery or other components.
     
  3. neilp1

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds good. I'd be using the btu to tweak geofence limits and check parameters in the field, between flights- so was planning on having the iPad about 6 inches away while doing it. Don't imagine I'd risk changing anything while actually in flight.

    Also- is it possible to do software upgrades over btu, so I can remove the ridiculous USB cable. If not, I'll be surface mounting that while I'm in there installing the rest.

    Thanks for the response!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    5
    No idea about software updates, probably not supported through the app.

    The btu is great for in-flight gains adjustment, you can change every setting independently in real-time, as opposed to x1/x2 through the tx.
     
  5. neilp1

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info- really appreciate the help.

    Cheers
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - BTU inside Forum Date
Phantom 1.1.1 with dual battery mount, 2.4GHz data link, BTU Classifieds Aug 31, 2016
DJI BTU General Discussion Mar 27, 2016
Btu module on P2V+ Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Jul 16, 2015
FS: New DJI Naza V2 w/GPS :: BTU Classifieds May 27, 2015
BTU... Phantom 2 Discussion Nov 10, 2014