Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Broken p3s remote.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Tony Cowan, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I was out flying and I dropped my remote. The antenna fell off and the wire inside came loose. I noticed that the aircraft still flies with no problem. But my distance sucks now. 300 feet and lost signal. Any place to repair this. Can it be soldered back. Best place to repair? I order another but it will take some days. Bummed out totally as this remote blows when trying to out cover on it. I will just use my tablet on a tripod for now on. No more mounting my phone in the thing. Any help appreciated.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. BigHorny

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sounds like the time to upgrade your antenna. You've already covered the part where you remove the old one...sorry about your loss. Upgrade! You'll be glad you did.
     
  3. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I didn't know I could. Any recommendations on how.
     
  4. BigHorny

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes. Fpvlr.com
     
  5. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I contacted fplvr. They wanted $154 for long distance kit. I hope they don't want another $99 to install. I mean I would think they would install after paying the 154. I will call them later as im in Florida. This would be awesome. Thank you for recommendation.
     
  6. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Yes. This is for the standard. I just called the guy doing the mod.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    RZR_Jim likes this.
  7. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Gives us all hope. I'm not looking for that distance, I just want to keep my signal strong throughout flight for confidence.
     
  8. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I'm not sure the batterie can hold up for such a long flight. Especially over water where I am. I guess it will always have to be fully charged for say a 7 mile round trip.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Be advised this claim is unsubstantiated.

     
    dirkclod likes this.
  10. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    True. I don't really know. But according to tech that is about right. Depends on interference. Surrounding structures and other variables I guess. But even 15.000 feet is fine. More than enough. I did see video of guy going 17kplus feet before return to home activated.
     
  11. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I apologize for hijacking thread, flew yesterday and afterwards plugged phone into computer to grab log to upload to healthydrones.com and there was nothing there? I have previously grabbed several flight reports....what's up? Anyway to find/recover?
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Even if your phone doesn't have the flight log it is on the aircraft. Connect aircraft to app, put it in log mode, plug aircraft into computer and ALL of the logs are there.

     
    dirkclod and RZR_Jim like this.
  13. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Thank you very much....probably should of done a little research.
     
  14. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Wow. I had no idea this would be a hot topic. Even not double. I thought the max range was 1km not 1 mile. Even at 3.5 miles I would be ecstatic. 2.5 as well. Are we saying with stick equipment I would get 2.5? So we are testing over water. This scares me to death. I am in Tampa bay and surely have enough ocean and bay to test in. I appreciate all the input from everyone. So there is another place that does these mods? What is the name of the website so I can check. Thanks all.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Cen

    Cen

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im in the same boat as the OP. I broke the antennae off mine. I'm looking at getting a new antennae. DBS or FPVLR, which is better? Not necessarily looking for super long range. Currently I get kicked into RTH mode @ 250 meters on my standard.

    Also, could I attach an antennae from a wifi router in the mean time?
    Shipping is expensive :(
     
  16. BigHorny

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I prefer the FPVLR. Others like the DBS. It's pretty clear both are preferred over stock. You can't go wrong with FPVLR if you can handle the bulky nature of the antenna itself. I believe it's worth it.
     
    Cen likes this.
  17. Cen

    Cen

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does it fit in the DJI case attached? (With some chopping)
    Easy to un-attach?
     
  18. BigHorny

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Easy to remove, reinstall. It's big! I had to hack some of the foam outta my new case to make it fit and it barely does. The DBS fits better into a bag, if that's what you deem more important than performance. For many, the size is a deal breaker.
     
  19. Prop_Washer2

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    Look up "Windsurfer for Phantom" cheap, easy install, worth 200 more meters...check YouTube. ...
    I have two different models coming in to test out....