Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Broke your camera? Want to replace it without losing wifi?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by CityZen, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Over in rcgroups, we've finally figured out how to make the wifi module in the Phantom 2 Vision Plus work with any camera and still provide telemetry, etc. The only thing that you don't get is camera control.

    What's surprising is how easy the solution was: apparently, DJI had designed the wifi module such that it could plug straight in to the CAM port and work with a Zenmuse gimbal & GoPro. Of course, it will also work with any gimbal that has its own control unit.

    Here's what to do: remove the 3 gray cables that connect to the gimbal board. Keep just the one that plugs into the back of the wifi unit. Plug the other end of it into the CAM port.

    If you have a Zenmuse gimbal, plug its cable into the anti-interference board and you're good to go.

    If you have some other gimbal, you can use the cable that plugs into the anti-interference board: pins 3 & 4 are ground, pins 5 & 6 are battery power, pin 7 is video ground, pin 8 is video signal in.
     
  2. ewee1952

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Re: Broke your camera? Want to replace it without losing wi

    Just to clarify - can you post some pictures?
     
  3. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,217
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Re: Broke your camera? Want to replace it without losing wi

    Very nice!
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Re: Broke your camera? Want to replace it without losing wi

    Thanks for the update C-Zen.

    Wow...But I'm a month late... spent 2k on an additional Phantom 2 v2 with h3-3d gopro.
    I didn't want to go the Drone expert way..
    Couldn't believe how simple it was.. Plug and play actually.

    I miss the 2 way communications with the Vision+ but hated the camera. Now this is the ultimate fix. Just a tad late :(.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Re: Broke your camera? Want to replace it without losing wi

    And just to clarify.. camera control as in changing the camera settings on the fly - ISO etc..
    One solution is enabling the gopro wifi with the phone app. Provided you are within 100ft, you can change the settings and see the live stream (slightly laggy) on your device. Enabling the 2.4ghz wifi on the gopro will NOT affect the 5.8ghz flight controls on the phantom.