Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Brand New P3P - No Image Transmission

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jhasarthak, May 28, 2016.

  1. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey Guys,

    So I just recieved my brand new P3P and it shows 'no image transmission' and the whole screen is black.

    The current firmware are : App 2.8.2
    Aircraft 1.4.10
    RC 1.4.30

    The app says that I require to upgrade RC, Battery, Camera and Aircraft.

    The aircraft flies perfectly with all parameters visible on the app. The gimbal is working perfectly.

    I had a nightmare after upgrading my P3S which saw drastic reduction in range. I cannot let the same happen to my new P3P. I really need suggestions from you guys about what I should do. I fear upgrading firmware now.

    Thanks,

    Sarthak
     
  2. DefaultIT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    74
    Android or iOS? I have at least one android tablet that does that with my P3P but any other device I connect still seems fine.
     
  3. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Iphone 6. I am installing the app on my android. will update here.
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Try to install earlier version of app and test. We don't have much info how App 2.8.2 works with 1.4 FW.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,915
    Likes Received:
    5,571
    Location:
    US
    Follow these instructions and all should go well.
     
  6. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    145
    ... which is the kind of scenario you are set up for when you don't keep up with updates, being in untested waters.

    AFAIK, P3P users have not experienced the so-called limited-range issue with firmware upgrades.

    Chris
     
  7. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    I upgraded all of it. Unable to upgrade RC. Tried everything in the instructions. The light wont turn blue no matter how long I wait.
    I have no idea what to do now. This is the second time DJI has screwed me over. Once with P3S and now with P3P
     
  8. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    My main concern right now is that I cannot see any camera image. The bird flies perfectly. Just no image transmission. I have upgraded everything but unable to upgrade RC. The light wont turn blue no matter how long I wait.
     
  9. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    145
    Okay, the light is supposed to blink blue in step #26 during firmware install (then green when it's complete), but you're not getting that.

    How about step #25? Did the download seem to occur successfully? That is, did it show the download happening and indicate success?

    "25. Tap download the firmware update package to download the firmware. Once downloaded, click the "Start to upgrade" button to start the firmware installation process. A progress bar will be displayed to allow you to track the installation progress."​

    That step is a bit confusing as it covers downloading the firmware *and* starting the upgrade. Those last 2 sentences should be part of step #26. Step #25 should only mention:
    • how to download the firmware (it does)
    • what you should see during download (it doesn't)
    • what you see after success or failure (it doesn't).
    Chris
     
  10. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi All,

    Positive update! I was able to update the RC through mobile cable and it finally worked. I can see the live view now and it works great.
    Thanks all for the help.
     
  11. Gatlin Gun

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey!
    Thanks for the follow up. I had the. Same exact problem on a p3 I've had for about 8 months. Never had a problem until I got the no image msg. I tried everything that was suggested, no luck. Did the update...success!!

    Thanks again!
     
  12. cdronefly

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    68
    In most of these cases, an update or replacement of the Go App and/or IMU calibration will fix the error. I still often get a disconnect and just plugging and unplugging the USB cable and moving a few feet back from the bird fixes it.