Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Brand New P2V+ 3.0 - WON'T WORK HELP!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by bhollis84, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I received my brand new P2V+ 3.0 in the mail last week and the weather has been so bad here that I haven't had a chance to use it. So today WAS going to be my first flight. I put my props on, turned on the Wi-Fi and the remote and took the copter outside. I turned the copter on, performed the compass calibration (multiple times) and had two green LED blinking on the copter. I pushed the sticks down to the bottom inside corners to start the motors and they started, and almost just as quickly they shut down. I have tried to restart the entire process at LEAST 10 times and I CAN'T get the motors to start. I am pulling my hair out here trying to figure this out. When I move the joysticks I can see the gimbal move the camera slightly, but nothing else happens, like the motors are completely dead. The smart battery, the remote, the Wi-Fi, all were charged completely before first use. I contacted DJI support (that was about a joke) and they suggested hooking the Phantom and the remote up to the computer to calibrate. I calibrated the remote and then connected the phantom. I checked the Phantom IMU calibration and the program said that IMU calibration was needed (don't know why considering it's never been flown), but regardless I did the basic IMU calibration. I then did the advanced IMU calibration (I received some crazy warning messages that the MC temperature was too high but then clicked ok and the calibration finished?), and I unhooked the Phantom. I removed the props and tried multiple times to start the motors here in my house and nothing happens still. The camera will slightly move when pushing the sticks around, but nothing out the motors. Have I received a faulty product?? What in creation is happening here? I am so disappointed and I hope that someone can help me. I appreciate any and all advice any of you may have!! Thank you!
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    If you are referring to two light blinking on the battery, then it is not not fully charged and wont start. In this case the quad is doing you a favor by not starting.

    Edit: Did you bind the Range Extender?
     
  3. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is the rear lights flashing a odd pattern or solid red

    Has the compass dance been done?

    If the compass hasn't been calibrated it won't let you fly it
     
  4. AmazingRando

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri USA
    This may be an elementary suggestion, but have you tried recentering the sticks after it starts? I had a couple of start/stops and realized it may be stopping because the left stick locks in the down position, which when I land, shuts down the rotors after a few seconds. Figured I may just be starting and stopping it on my own, so I make sure the sticks center after I start and she runs fine.
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    +1000
    Tell us what the phantom is trying to tell you. What are the lights saying? What colours, what sequence??
    Did you troubleshoot and look in the manual? Did the manual tell you to read the manual?
     
  6. Cytranic

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phantom wont stay spinning if the sticks are down.. I always give it some throttle after it starts up to keep it spinning
     
  7. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes I calibrated the compass and got the green lights confirming calibration. What I have are the two front LED lights on the Phantom blinking green. I called the dealer and they had me go through the remote calibration with them on the phone. They said the values during calibration should be reading in the 1000's, yet I only had one value that would read right at 1000, all the others were less than 1000 during calibration. They believe the remote is faulty and are mailing me an entire new drone. Is this correct?

    Again, I have two blinking green LED's on the drone, no red, and it won't fly.
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Download the RC 1.2 (Different than the Phantom Assist 3.6).
    calibrate all sticks and switches and make sure you are in MODE2.
    Finalise the calibration.

    Now go into the Phantom Assist 3.6 and do the same calibration.
     
  9. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0


    I did both while on phone with dealer. They said the values I was seeing during calibration were too low and that they think the remote is faulty. They agreed to send me another drone if I paid for it up front and then they would refund me once this one was received by them, so I agreed to it. Just very disappointed because I was hoping to use it all weekend. My only other fear is that there isn't anything wrong with this one and that I'm just doing something incorrectly.
     
  10. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    How "low" were they?
     
  11. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0

    Highest value was right at 1000. The dealer/technician said they should be well into the 1000's, most were in the 800 range.
     
  12. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0

    Mine don't go that high. You HAVE tried flying it again right?
     
  13. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't take it outside, however I had it sitting on the table at home (props removed). I went through the startup procedure (minus the compass calibration) and attempted to start it. I figured the motors would activated, obviously no flight without props, but again I got nothing. I even had GPS lock in my house, according the phone I had 8 satellites. So I continued on with trying to start the motors, did the CSC and nothing happened. Again, 2 of the arms had blinking green LED's, like it should start, but nothing....

    Am I doing something wrong? I have watched the youtube videos 100 times of people pulling them out of the box, calibrating, and taking off. I know these are technical devices, but it isn't a space shuttle, I don't know what I could be doing wrong.
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Ignore the numbers.
    Just start the RC1.2. Plug your USB into your remote controller. Calibrate again. Make sure you click start. Leave it dead centre. Click NEXT then move both sticks in circular motion and make sure they reach the max ranges (move the tilt dial as well). Leave them dead centre and then finalise. Make sure you DONT have any in REV. Leave them in NORM.

    Make sure you are in MODE 2.

    Then start the Phantom Assist and plug your usb into the phantom and do it again in the Phantom assist > RC.

    Also, check if your remote is binded
     
  15. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean to check if the remote is binded? Can you tell me what I need to do there?

    I know the phantom is reading the remote because when I move the sticks I can see the gimbal moving. Like the gimbal is compensating for movement of the drone but obviously the drone won't start and move.
     
  16. Prylar Bek

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    23
    What city are you in?
     
  17. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Petersburg, IL
     
  18. Prylar Bek

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    23
    Maybe someone near to you can pop over and help. Anyone?
     
  19. bhollis84

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone else has surely experienced this problem?
     
  20. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Calibrate the remote in the RC assistant software.
    2. Calibrate the remote to the phantom in the phantom assistant software.

    Try to start it.