Bought Phantom 3, how do I fly?

Reaction score
So just picked up DJI Phantom 3 Standard at Target for $700 with the price drop. And they got a free drone backpack deal going on until Jan 2 so now would be a good time to get one. And I hustled on Craigslist for gift cards and saved another $100. Gift card lady had a $700 gift card and it was the perfect amount to buy the drone, plus a random $69 left over one which I used towards the tax.

But it's still in the box now but I wanna wait until day time to fly it. What should I do first, do I need to put it together, and do I need the app? Should I take it of the box tonight to set it up and fly tomorrow? Do I need to charge it? Or can I unbox at the park when I'm ready to fly it? I am a total noob and I don't want to crash this thing, but I heard the expensive DJI drones are easier to fly than the Toys R Us ones.

Plus how do I mount an iPad or iPhone on the controller? In unboxing videos, it just looks like a claw clamp, I have no idea how that is gonna hold a phone / tablet. Is a phone holder a seperate accessory?

Please help a noob out and tell me how to have a successful first day. Will take it to an open area first. I will eventually want to try fly it in different areas. My friend has a house in Hollywood Hills and was hoping the drone is smart enough to navigate a hilly area and be able to land itself back on a small patio. Would get some awesome shots of the houses there, just hope nobody hates on my drone and shoots it down.

Reactions: Ethan Guppy
Start by downloading the Phantom manual from the downloads page. Check out my tips here.

You can watch some You Tubes also and do some reading in here.
Lots of knowledge in here and welcome to the forum Jet :)