Bought a 'Crashed' Phantom 2

Reaction score
G'day from Australia! I am new to this Quadcopter game, but I have an Aviation technician background.

I bought (cheaply thankfully) a 'Crashed' Phantom 2. From the photos it appeared to need a new body.... No probs I thought... They are pretty cheap. When the quad arrived I started the forensic investigation.... Opened the case and found the worst soldering/repair job I have ever seen! The three wires to 3 of the 4 motors had been cut and then twisted and 'blobbed' back together.... And when I mean 'together', I mean all three wires touching! To make matters worse (Yeah, amazing I know!) the solder had dripped onto one of the ESCs. I assuming that even with my mad 'NASA Standard' soldering skills, that ESC is dead and ready for heaven.

My questions for the learned forum-
1. Do I have to replace all 4 ESCs as a set?
2. Is it better to replace Motors and ESCs together? (One motor appears to be damaged, it binds and has a winding or two sticking out!)
3. Can I use non-DJI ESCs and Motors (as a set)?
4. Is the main board likely to be damaged due to the bodgey repairs?
5. Whats the best way of testing as I go, with all the repairs required?
Any help greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Andy.

Attachments

• 1449722228785.jpg
    1449722228785.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 401
  • 1449722249574.jpg
    1449722249574.jpg
    46.9 KB · Views: 381
  • 1449722282854.jpg
    1449722282854.jpg
    33.7 KB · Views: 401
G'day from Australia! I am new to this Quadcopter game, but I have an Aviation technician background.