Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Boscam TS353 Tx / Boscam RC805 Rx Combo

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by ThePhantom, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys. So I already have a monitor (I do commercial video) and wanted to use it with my Phantom for FPV. Has anyone used the Boscam TS353 Tx / Boscam RC805 Rx Combo? Care to share what are your experiences on this tx/rx pair? Thanks
     
  2. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    I use Boscam transmitters and they work fine. Do you intend to put in an iOSD Mini also for telemetry data? highly recommended so for the Phantom there's a nice plug and play cable so you don't have to solder anything

    Anyway you said you already have a display so you want the separate receiver, should work fine. Antennas are going to be really important, crap antennas = crap range no matter how good your transmitter is
     
  3. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey QYV, yes I plan to get the iOSD too. Nothing would make me feel more secure than knowing some important data from the quad, though I've read that regardless, flyaways or autolands still happen even if the data on display suggests otherwise. Anyway, I'm just looking for some user experience before I order the set. I'm even thinking of just getting the Boscam 5802 and the TS353 to avoid any extra wires and stuff.
     
  4. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    That's basically the setup I have and I really like it. I have the TS352 because it outputs 1000mW on some channels but to be fair it is a power hog. I have a TS353 on order I'm going to try out and see how it affects flight time.

    If you check this stickythread in FPV forum viewtopic.php?f=34&t=26413, you'll find what I think is the lowest price on the iOSD Mini (for the US anyway) as well as a link to the PnP cable you want just make sure you get the Boscam version not ImmersionRC/Fatshark.

    I like my RX-LCD5802, in the stickythread there is a link to a cool 3d printer mount for the RC. The good thing about all this is, if you decide you want to add goggles later it's easy... the broadcast from your Phantom can be received by any compatible device so if you decide you want goggles later you can just add them, easy.

    Antennas are super important for range, I highly recommend splurging on premium antennas like the ones from FPVLR they make a huge difference!

    honestly flyaways are rare these days, most of the autoland features can be disabled in the Assistant software except for the super urgent final like you have NO battery left autoland... and in either case if you happen to experience an issue having live FPV may help you know exactly where the quad goes down. but really just don't push your battery to the limits and you should be fine.
    I think the default battery warnings on the P2 are 30% and 25%, I dropped them to 25% and 20% and I've never had an issue with autoland or anything, but I also start heading home and making sure I'm not too high in the air (2m/s descent rate limit) when the battery starts to get low. you don't want to be at like 200m @ 1000m lateral with 30 or 25% left :)
     
  5. king156

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone post their boscam setup as am looking for a decent fpv setup for p2. How do you mount the tvl 700 cameras to the p2 do you need gimbals and what not?
     
  6. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    You lost me there I don't know what a TVL 700 is. Most of us are running GoPros in our Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal. with that basic setup it's super easy to add FPV...
     
  7. king156

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant afford a go pro and the gimbal so i saw these cheap tvl cameras by sony there like £20 i was wandering how i could use it for fpv or any other cheap fpv solutioons?
     
  8. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
  9. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC

    hm yes and no. 200mW should theoretically be enough for decent range... IF you're in a zero interference environment like way out in the country.
    I started with 200mW trying to fly in the city and could only get about 20-30m before interference was too much... same antennas, but I upgraded to the TS352 and NOW I get 1km range

    also, just sayin I Don't know what the prices are exactly in the UK, but from what I'm seeing the TS351 (200mW) vs TS353 (400mW) the price is only about $10usd difference... so why not double your power. again, just something to consider
     
  10. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    I went with the previous setup that I posted QYV. Those BlueBeam Antennas from your other thread sure are pricey, but they seem to be getting rave reviews so I got them too. Now, the long wait begins.
     
  11. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    you mean the FPVLR's? they are pricey but you get what you pay for :)