Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Boscam FPV

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Rustysocket, Sep 8, 2014.

  1. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone added a separate camera and used one of the boscam 2.4g video tx/rc from ebay?

    I have a gopro silver for the camera to start.
     
  2. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    I am waiting for that setup right now..I have the camera just waiting for the Boscam TS321 and receiver ,small monitor and a cradle to bolt it all onto on the back of the radio...
     
  3. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up the tx/rx. Need to find a video output cable and figure out a monitor and mount. Trying to do yhis on the cheap. Any suggestions
     
  4. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    If my monitor is OK it cost USD 23 ... 4.5" display needs 12v power so I'll be using a 2500 mah battery to run it and the receiver
    velcroed to the stand .. All up my FPV is going to cost USD 110 plus another $20 or so for some cables with plugs and sockets already on them ... Once I get it going I will attempt OSD / GPS hookup ...
    Forgot $20 for the mini camera ..
    Mandrake
     
  5. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great prices. Do you have any links?
     
  6. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
  7. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Will look today for monitor and gopro cable, may just get new minicam insread. Which cam did you get
     
  8. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
  9. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to find the 23$ display..
     
  10. dtviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    79
  11. dkr77573

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I have a boscam 5.8 Ghz, 250mw setup. I'm using a Mobius action cam. Yep. It was all done "on the cheap". Total $140 or so for the Rx, Tx and Camera. However, I've added the base fatshark goggles, which cost more than everything else. LOL
     
  12. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    GoPro cable has arrived... Gotta love Amazon prime. Order stuff while drinking late at night.. boxes show up next day... Incredible.

    Still waiting on transmitter/receiver. Just realized I need to figure out a way to power everything....

    Debating on 7" monitor.... and mount. Need power for it also..


    Just thinking out loud...
     
  13. peterek

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im builiding the same setup, i have $70 gimbal, will return gopro to the store and get sj4000 go pro clone, i just bought boscam 2.4ghz tx/rx, and cloverleaf antennas, need to figure out lcd screen that is bright enought for daytime flying and lcd mount
     
  14. dkr77573

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    If you find a monitor with a traditional mounting hole, the mount from this thread is perfect. I used it until I hot my base fatshark.

    viewtopic.php?t=6239
     
  15. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5

    You are using a 5.8 Ghz FPV system with an FC40? How is that working? My understanding has always been that one can't use video equipment using the same frequency range as the quad.
     
  16. dkr77573

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No. I have a phantom 1.1 too. Also, you're right to worry about interference between a 5.8 Ghz vTx and a 5.8Ghz control.
     
  17. egoldy

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have the FC40 as well and I'm looking for a way to do the FPV set-up through my Go Pro 3.

    I like the 4" or 7" monitor link from amazon that was shown earlier.

    Can I get a 2.4 boscam transmitter? What else do I need to connect it to the Go Pro and what do I need on the receiver end?

    Anyone got this working with the FC40?
     
  18. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    My stuff is ordered. Not sure how it will all work, but will update once it all arrives.