Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Boscam 200mW FPV setup - poor range - help

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by mroberts, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got this tx/rx setup and am getting terrible range. The website quotes 500m (which I always assumed was optimisitic), but it seems like I'm barely getting 50-75m - even when the antenna is on the "right" side of the quad flying away from me.

    How should the stock antennas be oriented - I'm assuming vertically for both, but does up/down matter?

    Is it possible I've got the channel wrong on the Rx? Would I get any signal at all if I was off by one channel?

    I've also picked up a set of these - 3 lobe tx and 4 lobe rx. They actually seem WORSE than the stock antenna.

    Any tips for improving reception, using either the stock antennas, or a combination?
     
  2. boat chaser

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    I use the fatshark dominator fpv system. Standard antenna with the set are only 100mw so I upgraded to a 600mw immersionRC vtx and then upgraded both antennae on the goggles and the vtx. I originally had the antenna on the vtx pointing down near the rear left leg. I found that when I turned around to return home that the reception was terrible mainly due to the antenna on the vtx being obstructed by the gimbal and phantom. I have the vtx mount on the exterior of the phantom just under the LED on the back. I removed the 90 degree elbow joint and now I have the antenna pointing out the left side by about 7 cm. Moving the antenna has greatly increased the quality of the video as the antenna is now only obscured on one side compared with two sides on the old configuration. I upgraded the antennae to IBcrazy blue beam airscrew high gain. Apparently much better than the spironet antenna.
     
  3. TickTock

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    What are you using for your monitor? That can make a big difference. Since the RF is just sending the analog signal, a monitor with a weak input amp may have a problem while a different brand may not. I use that exact same TX/RX and one time I had my goggles on and an LCD in the other AV output so my friend could watch. He said the LCD video kept freezing and dropping out while I never saw any issues in the goggles.
     
  4. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a GoodLuckBuy 7". It goes noticeably fuzzy before it drops to blue screen. It's an interesting idea, but I don't have another monitor to test. Next time I fly with some other guys I'll see if they can plug into my rx.
     
  5. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Took it out today to try to do some systematic testing of the different antennas, and decided to check the channel assignment first. :oops: It would appear I got the channel settings wrong and the Rx and Tx were on different channels.

    I blame Boscam - what sort of idiot has a different encoding for their Rx and Tx switch sets???

    It seemed to perform a lot better (duh), but it was so windy I didn't want to fly high or too far away.

    IF that was the problem, it will show that the $7 Banggood antennas may be worth the $$

    Where's the facepalm smiley when you need it.
     
  6. gardenroute

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Czech Rep.
    I have this set on my Phantom, a cloverleaf antennas to see 500 to 700 meters.
    I wanted to also help control channels, exactly the same problem I had too :(

    By the way I use Fatshark Dominator goggles, for which TBS group manufactures integrated receiver with frequencies Boscam.
     
  7. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was why I was getting annoyed - it seemed other people were getting far better performance than I was. As soon as the **** weather clears up I should be able to do some more testing, btu I'm hopefuly that the channel thing was th eproblem. I'm surprised I was getting ANYTHING with the channel wrong. Does that indicate that the signal bandwidth is actually larger than the spacing between the channels?
     
  8. TickTock

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is more likely the RX bandpass filter not being sharp enough. Not really a problem until someone starts transmitting on an adjacent channel and they are closer to you than your craft is.