Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Blemish in video

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by Timsytanker, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    I have a small mark in the top right hand corner of every video I shoot now. It's always in the same place same size, never moves, when I watch the vid using Windows I can see it. Cleaned the Gopro lens with a spectical cleaning wipe but it's still there. When editing in Premier the mark is evident but when I take a screen shot and look to edit it in photo shop it's gone! Any ideas what it is? I am formatting the SD card at the moment but have opted for the long format and it's taking a while.... Will try another card as well.
     
  2. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    Most likely it is dust on the sensor. Not much you can do. Post a sample for further diagnosis.
     
  3. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    If it is dust rather than a dead pixel I have had some success dislodging it by sharply tapping the camera on something hard like a table top.
    Depends on what it is, you can get sticky bits but sometimes it seems as though mainly static holds fibres in place.
     
  4. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    This is a screen shot saved from Photoshop, no mark in top right hand side of photo, will have to clip a short vid with the mark in it, it looks like a short white line.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    I am confused as to why I can see it in Premier but can't see it in a screen shot imported into Photoshop.
     
  6. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    Forgot to add that I connected the Gopro to my television via an HDMI cable and there was no blemish to be seen. Recorded a flight and it was back...