Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Blackpearl Screen Static-y

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by NickCopter, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. NickCopter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Hello all.

    I recently purchased a P2 setup with complete FPV, and upon opening it, can not seem to get this to work.

    http://i.imgur.com/5iSx9Tl.jpg

    ^that's the screen I see when starting it up. The specs on the unit are:

    P2 non vision,
    modded controller with helix FPVLR antenna and monitor mount on the controller,
    black pearl,
    FPVLR antennas for the monitor,
    600mW VTX,
    Zenmuse H3-3D w/ GoPro Hero 3+ Black
    mini iOSD

    it's my first time using the Black Pearl monitor, as I've used other ones for FPV in the past. I tried with 2 different GoPros and they had the same result. All the antennas are screwed on tightly in the position that the guy had shown in the pictures.

    I'm wondering if its my Zenmuse H3-3D Ribbon broken, but I have full tilt control of the GoPro so that leads me to think it's an antenna issue.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    To start with, make sure the GoPro and the BP are both in either PAL, or both in NTSC.

    Also, is it a 32 channel or a 7 channel BP ?
     
    NickCopter likes this.
  3. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Yea without a doubt change the ntsc/pal setting under the black pearls menus. That will fix the bad image.

    It looks to me that you have the rp-sma adapters on the black pearl. (am i right in saying those are ibcrazy bluebeams?) if they are it looks like you may have the 32 ch black pearl which does not work properly with immersion vtxs. I had this problem myself with only getting 200m out of a 600mw with nimrod antennas. My work around was to use an immersion dup diversity receiver wired into the input on the black pearl. not get 1500m with ease.
     
    NickCopter likes this.
  4. NickCopter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Thanks for the help! It did the trick excellently. Just had to change the monitor to NTSC.

    For the record, I think it's a 7-channel but I'm not sure.
     
  5. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I wss assuming you had an irc 600 vtx. There have been compatibility issues with irc transmitters and the 32channel BP . Sounds like your all sorted anyhow, just trying to cover the bases in the one reply.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Blackpearl Screen Static Forum Date
Right band and channel, Blackpearl and avl58 FPV (First Person View) Oct 17, 2015
LIVE STREAM VIA BLACKPEARL . question/// Phantom 2 Discussion May 19, 2015
What are your Blackpearl settings? Phantom 2 Discussion Apr 2, 2015
Feeler - Decked out P2 FPV setup w/ lightbridge, blackpearl, Classifieds Mar 24, 2015
TS832+Blackpearl : 10m useful range.... FPV (First Person View) Mar 5, 2015