Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Black Pearl Text Issue in PAL

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by jmandersonbm, May 20, 2014.

  1. jmandersonbm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all.

    I have a DSLRPros system, P1 with Black Pearl 7" monitor, Futaba transmitter, GoPro Hero 3+.

    In NTSC, for both monitor and Gopro, all is well, all text fits on screen perfectly.

    In PAL however, (which I need for UK filming) the lower half of the text including voltage is not seen. I was able to press and hold the (-) minus key to get a bit more of the overall text to show, but still the bottom row of text is not seen. I am having to fly with two batteries and limit to a max time of 8 minutes as I have no clue about how much battery is left. I tested hovering in calm conditions and get 14 minutes so I know 8 I should be safe. I am flying/filming over water, 4-12 miles at sea so any info anyone could provide would be awesome! Totally new at this hobby stuff.
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Well you tried what I was going to suggest first - holding down (-) on the BP will give you a letterbox view and the telemetry should be fully visible, at least it is on my UK BP set to PAL and GoPro set to PAL. The iOSD should automatically detect and switch modes accordingly. You could try plugging it into the iOSD Assistant and make sure it's running the latest firmware.
     
  3. jmandersonbm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Pull_up. Got a link for the latest IOSD Assistant software handy?
     
  4. jmandersonbm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see the assistant software on DJI. I assume that's the one?
     
  5. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-2/download towards the bottom under "Other Downloads"

    You want the iOSD Assistant, not the Phantom Assistant (although if you haven't updated the aircraft firmware you may wish to look into that as well).
     
  6. jmandersonbm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the BP connect directly to PC or you use the USB to Phantom + Transmitter + BP + Gopro all on method?
     
  7. Kelso Kubat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, CO
    National Television Standards Committee -NTSC
    and the
    People Across the Lake -PAL

    :shock: