Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Black Pearl Flicker

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by scooter339, May 2, 2014.

  1. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Just hooked up my Black Pearl, I have cloverleaf TX & RX.

    At close range I see signal breakup but certainly workable. At 50 yards more break up and I lost signal a couple of times in five minutes.

    Is this typical?
     
  2. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    What type of tx are you using and where did you buy the antennas?
     
  3. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Immersion TX

    Cloverleaf TX & RX DJI Product -- I think I got them at MotionRC -- don't remember.
     
  4. mcmax20

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you change from PAL to NTSC? That was an ongoing problem for other members here.
     
  5. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    No its not typical. If you give more info someone may pipe up. Eg. Freq/channel/band match at both ends, Video mode ntsc or pal, what antennas on BP, is diversity on etc

    Sent from my Galaxy Note 8
     
  6. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I'm NTSC, I have the3 diversity channel set to A and the other two are set to E

    Reception about the same. I should probably judge the reception at more than 50" Yes?
     
  7. jayhas

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    My guess. The Immersion TX connector is SMA and your cloverleafs are RP-SMA. You need adapters.
     
  8. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    The 600mw immersion RC tx? I thought it transmitted on band F? I would set them all to band F and try again.
     
  9. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    +1
     
  10. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I'm set to band F and ordered the antenna adapter.

    Thanks all.
     
  11. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Do you need the antenna adapter? Post a pic of the connections on the BP without the antennas on there, also the antenna connectors.

    Same on the tx and its antenna. (make sure you don't power on the tx without an antenna on it or you will fry the tx.)
     
  12. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Thanks -- I got the adapter, switched to Channel F and all is well.
     
  13. jayhas

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad to hear you got your FPV problem solved !