Best tablet and workstation for 3D mapping

Reaction score
Hello all,

New member here. I am a professional land surveyor working for a medium sized firm in B.C. canada and am looking to add a uav to do some photogrammetry on small to medium sized jobs.
A large part of what we do is site (topographic) plans for lots that people wish to develop. I would like to use the uav for this. Create a 2d site plan from the ortho images and overlay contours from a dem I create. I'm sure there are a lot of other uses I will find once I get going.
I am going to purchase the phantom 4 pro for my uav and use agisoft photoscan for my post processing and modeling.
I'm looking for recommendations for which tablet I should use and a workstation to run photoscan. Portable would be better for me. I was thinking an ipad mini 4 and a MacBook? What specifications should I look for in a workstation? Also what app do you recommend to run the uav for the photo gathering?

If you don't have budget limitations, go for 27" iMac which supports 5K. You can buy FinalCut Pro for image processing.

iPad Mini 4 or iPad Pro 9.7" should be good enough.

I use an iPad Air 2 with my Inspire 1 Pro. I use a Dell XPS with an i7 with 16GB of RAM and a 4GB graphics card processing with Agisoft.

Does anyone find the ipad air too big or do you enjoy the extra screen size?

Is there a specific iMac 27" I should be looking for? Money is a consideration so I would have to be buying used.

What type of specificarios should I look for in a workstation in terms of video card, ram, ECT. I'm fairly illiterate when it comes to computer performance.