Best hardware/software combo for editing

Reaction score
Everyone. I'm on a budget and open to suggestions for a good computer for video editing. This will be my work computer. I'm new to both Premiere and Final Cut. I've owned Mac and PC. I like the smaller iMac with the Retina 4K display. I'm looking to stay at $1,500. I want a 4K display and I want butter smooth video editing. I'll learn the rest. Discuss.

Well, I have the same question, but, I have the doubt about which system to use (Mac or PC). Have always worked with pc, and have the impression that video files are better handled (faster!) than with iOS.
On my iMac seems forever to download a large video file. Same file on a pc is assimilated much faster than with with the Mac.
That being said, the other question also comes out: which should be best for video editing?
Believe any pc will beat any Apple pc on speed....

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

I don't think it's necessarily that easy to say a PC is faster than a Mac.

I don't know if I can build a PC system and get a 4K display for the price of an iMac though.

Well, that is correct, it depends also in the processor power and speed in the computer.
If you are going to handle or manage video editing most of the time, I guess the computer has to be a desktop unit rather than a laptop... Seems to me that sitting down on a good desk with a large screen will help a lot!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

If your competent with basic PC upgrades, base a system off a reasonably up to date i7 processor. (Dual Xeon if you can stretch to it) couple this with at least 16gm Ram, a 1tb hard drive (72000rpm) and a good GPU (Nvidia gtx 9series), add a monitor.

Then as you can afford or see fit.. Upgrade ram to 32gb, get 1 or 2 SSD drives.