Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Best Firmware for P3A

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Michael Stuart, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    I've been looking on lots of forums but I can't find the answer anywhere. A lot of people say the latest fw has screwed up their range or whatever. My P3A is arriving on Monday, and I don't know what fw to update it to for it to be the most reliable. Do you recommend the latest fw, or a difference one, and if you recommend a different fw, which one??


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    I'm happy with 1.8.80
     
  3. drmelvinh

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you can fly in beginner mode if firmware on P3A and remote are not match. I am also happy with new firmware.
     
  4. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Can I have the drone in 2nd latest fw and remote in latest fw?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You need to give current details on what firmware is in your aircraft now. There is several opinions but the best firmware is not able to be downloaded in the aircraft's anymore. I fly using v1.4.1
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Yes. You could also just fly with whatever is on your Phantom and remote controller when you receive it.
     
  7. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    And should I still update the transmitter if I do that?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Kc2

    Kc2

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am also new and having the same question about which fw ver to use.
    I saw people saying 1.6.80 was the last good one before range got shorten.
    I recall seeing someone complained about after a ver upgrade, the gimbal shaked won't stop. Saw a video on Youtube.
    On Dji forum seems the range problem hasn't been fixed..
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    No. Either update both the Phantom and remote controller like this or ignore the update available messages in DJI GO and update nothing.
     
  10. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    80
    I purchased the Lightning deal P3A yesterday. I have a P3P and have been flying with firmware 1.4 which is compatible with DJI Go 2.4.1 on an iPad 2 retina. Does anyone know if it matters which version of DJI Go you use with the Advanced or will DJI Go work with any Advanced and Controller firmware?
     
  11. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    I think I'm gonna go with v1.4. However, as msinger mentioned, I hope it works with my DJI GO app which happens to be the latest version at 2.8.4.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    on a p3p, but am on 1.8 firmware, 2.8.1 DJI go (android) and its perfect. I got 32k out and back with windsurfers. no transmission issues here at all.
     
    arcaine25 likes this.
  13. timgting44

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    I wouldn't touch this latest update if you paid me, stay clear mate! Birds falling from the sky, range cut to rediculous range... The list goes on, I'm on the last fw before this latest one and I love it , I easily get 4000m range with no video or rc range issues, dji really need to sort there **** out..... Don't seem like there really bothered with putting out a fix for this latest fw now there flag ship p4 is out....


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hmm... Do you think I should go with v1.4? I heard it's great, and a lot of people wish they could go back to it, so I wouldn't want to waste that opportunity. And then, maybe if it doesn't work well, I could still go to 1.8 (2nd latest).


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. timgting44

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    I'd try 1.4 personally if it were me, I've never tried it..... Then like u say u can all ways upgrade... Just not to this latest crap dji have put out. Some people have said they have cut the range on purpose as the p3's were out ranging the p4's , but that's just say so....


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Michael Stuart likes this.
  16. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    As @flyNfrank told you yesterday, you'll need to see what you have when it arrives tomorrow before you know your options. Depending on what you get, you may not be able to install 1.4.
     
    JoBe and flyNfrank like this.
  17. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    True. I'm just sorting out my possibilities. What would you recommend between fw 1.6, 1.7, and 1.8?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #17 Michael Stuart, Jul 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2016
  18. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    What I normally recommend when this question comes up is to just use what you get when it arrives. Unless it's v1.5, you will most likely have no issues. Remember that you can only go back to one level below the highest level that has previously been installed. I would recommend that you should not be in a hurry to make a hasty change that you may not be able to easily undo.

    Using what you get when it arrives will give you a chance to check out your new drone for any infant mortality (early life) type of electronic issues, to understand the relationship between the RC, the AC, your mobile device, and the software, plus learn the many nuances of the design and it's features. Once you are very comfortable with what you have, you will better understand the forum discussions about pros/cons with each FW and you can make a more educated decision about which version you prefer. You will also be in a better position to recognize any issues of your own that are introduced when you update.

    I cringe when I read about people who immediately update their firmware before they even know how to fly or before they know if what they have is fully functional. Then it's more difficult to diagnose or recognize any issues, and much more difficult if not impossible to go back to what they started with when new.

    As always, just my humble opinion. Cheers and good luck sir!
     
    #18 Oso, Jul 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
    JoBe, TrevorTron and heykool69 like this.
  19. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Good advice. Thank you


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Michael Stuart

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    21
    Just received it and it's v1.5. I'm going to take it down to v1.4. Is the downgrade and upgrade process the same?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app