Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Best controller

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mrand, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. mrand

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can somebody explain to me the what upgrading my controller will do. Will this help with longer flying range? By that I mean the controller will be able to control the Phantom for longer flying distances. If getting a better controller is a good idea, what's a good one to get? I have tried to research things a bit, but I get so much stuff that it's hard to deceipher it all. I do like how the DJI controller does the "return to center" thing. Do they all do this? Thanks for any and all input.
     
  2. thedjiguy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    The upgraded transmitter should give you longer range and more added features such as being binded to multiple receivers.
     
  3. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Most transmitters can have the self centering throttle but not out of the box. You usually have to open them up and turn a screw.

    The main reasons for using a different transmitter is the ability to do things like set curves on your controls to give more precision. Believe it or not, range isn't a good reason as the stock tx is has a fantastic range of several km.

    I use the FrSky Taranis which I've found to be a superb transmitter in terms of features. It's unbelievable how cheap it is too.
     
  4. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    Rilot,

    Maybe I missed it but what module do you use on the tarranis and do you use the P2 standard Rx?
    I have a P2 also and a Tarranis Tx and was hoping to use it with the P2.

    Thanks,

    Tom
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Tom, you won't need a Tx module with the Taranis, it has an XJT already built in...but you can add an external module if you want to bind to two receivers at once (for 32 channels).

    You'll need a FrSky receiver though, the Taranis won't bind with the stock Phantom Rx. I'd recommend the X8R (8/16 channels)
     
  6. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Yes, I use the X8R in all my models including the Phantom.
     
  7. NYRangers99

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    Rilot,

    Maybe you can help me out…I just purchased the Taranis x9D with the X8R…planning on using it with the Phantom 2 but also planning on building a hexacopter and using it for that also…any tips on setting it up and installing everything? I have never done this before and just wondering how to do it?
    Thanks for your help
    John
     
  8. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hmmm... tx never binds to a rx. rx binds to the tx. Tx has one special serial number, during the bind process it sends that info to the rx, the rx sends a confirmation, then they are bound.

    Some more sophisticated binding allows for model match, where a bit in the handshake contains a unique assignment for a specific rx, but , you have to select a different memory slot to bind to for it to work properly. (the protocol used has to support it too)

    This is why you can bind more than one rx to a single controller , you can fly two air craft with one transmitter, this is super stupid and for those have tried, my friend Darwin loves you.
     
  9. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    There was a big thread on here, started by me that had a lot of info on the Taranis including a couple of example profiles. I can't see to find it though.
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I'll look for the thread in a bit too, but in the meantime here's one of rilot's Taranis EEPROM's for the Phantom (if not the main one). The file in the attached zip should work for your Phantom as it is, or you can use it as a starting point to customize as needed. It even has a channel set up for gimbal control, with reduced speed for smooth motion.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The stock TX/RX has excellent range and there is no need to upgrade if range is your primary interest. In fact, a number of setups have less range and use less sophisticated transmission protocols compared to the stock system. The primary reason for an aftermarket TX is using features like dual-rate, auto-rotating the gimbal, etc.
     
  12. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +1 The stock DJI controller will compete with some of the best aftermarket 2.4GHz gear in terms of range. To extend beyond that you'll need to move to something like UHF.
     
  13. NYRangers99

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    Thanks a bunch OI, I appreciate it…will look into this for sure…haven't messed with it at all…just back from vacation, now back to work…sorry for late reply, haven't been on in a few days…appreciate all the help…
    john
     
  14. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    I guess I worded that a bit confusing.
    I meant is there a TX module that will fit the Taranis that will work with the P2 Rx??

    Tom
     
  15. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK