Beginner Mode: Cannot Take Off (NO GPS)

Reaction score
Hi. I received my first ever drone and P4P today. I was setting up my drone in our balcony. I don't understand the reason why there is no GPS signal when I was trying to fly my drone. Please explain to me. Im a super newbie. [emoji144]
73f6b9db1c4d6ab22980f73f1b83bf67.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Please explain to me. Im a super newbie

Almost looks like you have some kind of cover on the camera lens in that shot?

Trying to take off from a balcony and you are a self admitted "super newbie"! Probably........in fact, NOT a good idea.

If that is a balcony with concrete floor and perhaps another above you there is plenty of rebar imbedded in that which will interfere with calibrating the Phantom prior to take off. Not to mention any metal railings!

It would be wise of you to sit down - read your manual and check out a few "beginner videos" on YouTube.

As much as it states "ready to fly" - they are speaking of the Phantom ---- NOT the PILOT or rather new pilot.

EDIT; Welcome to the forum by the way - this is a great start for you to get all kinds of assistance and tips for safe flying etc. Plenty of experienced pilots on here - heed what is being said and you will be fine.........don't rush out to fly as tempting as it is ......... before you know how to fly.

Best of luck going forward.

Reactions: Erised and Neon Euc
Probably a good idea to calibrate it somewhere close to where he lives now so the drone no longer thinks it is in China.

He said he was setting up the drone from he's balcony. That's enough reason to calibrate imho

Sent from my HUAWEI LYO-L01 using PhantomPilots mobile app
What? That makes no sense. You don't calibrate the compass based on the kind of surface you are taking off from. You don't calibrate the compass unless the drone drifts or flies in an irregular manner.

Reactions: DroneP4