Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Beginner Mode and limitations

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Philltayl, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Hi.

    Can Intelligent flight modes be tested in beginner mode??? I am interesting testing as much as possible before venturing a bit further. :)
     
  2. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    258
    I don't really know but I would think they do. You'd just be very limited in altitude and range. I would turn off beginner mode and set my altitude limit to something like 40 m (120 ft or so) and my distance limit to 100 m (300 ft or so). In other words, create your own beginner mode with a little more space.
     
    Philltayl likes this.
  3. Guzziknight

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    That's what I've been doing. Every flight I increase my limits a little to get comfortable with flying farther.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Philltayl likes this.
  4. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    I did the very same at the beginning. Beginner mode maybe first day only, than set those two limits to higher and longer by double each time. Till I got to the legal height of 120m (USA) and distance to 500m (GO app max). Flew it that way a few weeks, now I've been out over a mile (1700m). And those old short distances seem like nothing now.
     
    Philltayl likes this.
  5. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    I am most interested if the course lock function will work in beginner mode???
     
  6. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    It should. Just test it by putting it in Beginner mode first, than see if you can turn on IOC in the settings. If the Go app lets you turn on IOC in beginner mode you should be all set.
     
    Philltayl likes this.