Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Before I send it back....won't communicate with PC for calibration

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by JKDSensei, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    I have a thread in the help section but it's not getting very much in the way of help so I thought I'd try here before throwing in the towel...

    Brand new v1.1.1

    Everything seems to work EXCEPT, I can't get it to communicate with the PC for IMU calibration.

    After a lot of research, this seems to be a fairly common problem and I'm having trouble believing there could be that many faulty NAZA's.

    Maybe it's the VU. I wish there was a way I could test that without dissassembly.

    The driver is installed and shows up in the Device manager under Ports. And more importantly, when I connect it to the PC, the PC hard drive light blinks and the driver appears and disappears when I plug in or unplug the USB cable to the PC. So it definitely is connecting. But, it won't transfer data or connect with the Assistant for IMU calibration etc. The blue and red connection lights in the assistant never come on.

    I'm still not 100% convinced it's the Phantom (but getting close). It could be an issue with the COM port on the PC. So I tried it on another computer, with the same results so far.

    I also tried using the USB cable for reading a USB thumb drive and that worked fine. But USB communications and serial communication work much different.

    So before I throw in the towel, I'm going to try it on a 3rd computer and with a totally different USB cable. I guess if it still doesn't communicate it's time to ship it off to maybe maybe land.

    Unless someone here has any additional suggestions. It's under warranty and if it turns out to be the NAZA unit itself, it's $300 for that one part and I don't want to void the warranty.

    Also, 6 weeks (at least) turn around for the repair is brutal....but at least I have other toys to play with during the time. Waaaaa Waaaaa lol
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    I'm gonna throw a few random thoughts out there for you.

    I have had many issues with connecting the FC40 to my computer. My original USB cord was the only one which would connect for the longest time. I tried another, not long ago, and it worked.

    When connecting I like to follow this procedure.
    1- Phantom level and stationary with battery in place, but not connected.
    2- NAZA assistant open on PC and screensaver set to 15 or 20 minutes.
    3- Controller on, sound checks, light checks.
    4- Phantom battery connected and allowed to complete self check.
    5- USB connected to computer then to Phantom.
    6- Listen for audible connection sound from PC.
    You may get a "Connection" sound but not get a bright green light. If this occurs you must disconnect the USB from the phantom and wait for the audible "Disconnect" sound from the PC.
    7- Visually check Phantom for bright green light.
    Sometimes the connection isn't right and I will get a dim green light... this is a "NO GO" item. Once again, disconnect from the Phantom and wait for the disconnect sound from the PC. I have had this take up to 30 seconds.
    8- Check the NAZA assistant for proper light indications of data transfer.

    After doing all this and failing to connect, I will start over with a fresh boot up on the computer and usually that will work.

    We can keep throwing darts at your board for a few days before you ship it back. Who knows???

    FYI, I read the other thread in help.
     
    JKDSensei likes this.
  3. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Uninstall the NAZA assistant and driver.
    Reinstall right after a restart of your computer.

    Find someone nearby who can connect to their machine and see if your bird will connect to their computer.
     
    Ti22 and JKDSensei like this.
  4. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    IFlyinWY,
    Transmitter switches both all the way up? GPS mode and OFF?

    When I power up the Phantom I get this....
    RED GREEN YELLOW RED GREEN YELLOW GREEN GREEN GREEN GREEN

    Then immediately after the 4 greens....

    Green Red Red Red....Green Red Red Red (and sometimes the reds will drop to one or two)
    (I understand this to mean the number of Satellites locked in?) I'm not sure I'll ever get adequate GPS locks indoors. Do I need to be outdoors?

    It does this indefinitely. I never get past this point. Im indoors.

    I do not get YELLOW YELLOW YELLOW YELLOW YELLOW at any point. Aren't 4 yellow blinks to indicate warm up?
     
    #4 JKDSensei, Jul 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015
  5. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, outdoors I eventually get a steady slow green blink with no red. I think that means GPS lock?

    However, I have never heard the motors on this Phantom start...regardless. I think the IMU needs calibration but I cannot access it.
     
  6. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    I did buy another USB cable. It didn't do anything. Nothing. At least the one that came with it connects to the driver even if it will not communicate with the Assistant.

    Enough.

    Time to send this pile back to DJI.
     
  7. Ti22

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    San Diego
    OP - did you try this before giving up? Good advice.

    Your lights seem fine to me. You won't get complete GPS lock indoors. I've only connected and ran Naza once on Mac Os X so I'm not much help but good luck to you.
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  8. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    If I could find someone nearby willing that would be FeeNominal. But how do I do that?
     
  9. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    I would like to thank everyone for their help.
    I finally got it connected so the machine seems to be in order.

    My primary computer seems to have a problem with the UART chips for COM communications.

    I apparently botched the install process on my wife's laptop originally and it didnt work there either.
    Once I removed everything from her computer and installed the Win Driver first and then the assistant (All As Administrator) it connected instantly.

    Everything checks out now. Not sending it back (great sigh of relief).

    Should be ready for a first flight attempt in the next few days once I feel comfortable with everything and triple check that all is set up properly.

    I think my first flights will be very low, very close in flights in manual mode.
    I'm comfortable flying my other drone completely manually (not even a GPS)...so I think I'll feel safer knowing it won't take off and go bye bye.

    Thanks again all who helped !!
     
  10. Ti22

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hey great news and you’re gonna have a blast.

    GPS is cool although my bird tends to tilt a little during lift-off using GPS mode so I generally put it in ATTI to launch and then switch GPS on.

    If worried about fly-aways I suggest looking into a Marco-polo radio tracker. They’ve got a 12g RC transmitter up to 2 mile range. The pet version’s more like 50g. Good peace of mind…

    Enjoy!
     
    JKDSensei and IflyinWY like this.
  11. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Ha Haa,
    I love the success stories. But I gotta laugh and a half. Low and close??? Lets see if that really happens. It's too much fun to kick it in the pants and do some "Hot Doggin'". Whatever you do, I hope it's tons of fun, just like it should be and is for most of us.

    Fly aways are reserved for the P2 folks. I can't think of a single P1 or FC40 fly away. There probably have been a few, but I wouldn't fear them, especially since you can fly in ATTI.

    I look forward to a pic of your bird in the air, even if it's a blurry cell phone shot.

    Right on JKDSensei, have a ball.
     
    JKDSensei likes this.
  12. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, I looked at that. I would like to have one.
     
  13. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA

    Ha ha ha.....BUSTED !!!!

    lol
    See? Even the "bad guys" have good luck sometimes.
    Low and Close......You know, for like the first 15 minutes....

    I had no idea flyaways are so rare on the P1. Awesome !
    Seems to be par for the course over in the P2 / P3 sections.
     
    #13 JKDSensei, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015