Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery warning light?

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by paulbunyard, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys

    One very frustrated phantom owner here! I have 12 new battery's all less than 2 months old and very little use?

    My phantom is giving me a battery warning light (red flashing) as soon as I take off? ALL battery's are charged and are not faulty I have a meter to shown me all cells and it gives me percent ? I've been flying the quad since it came out in January and only now am I having the problems?

    I must add that these are dji stock batteries !

    Hope you can help

    Kind regards Paul
     
  2. Ruff Ryda

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Harrisburg, IL
    Calibrate battery in naza software would be the first thing I would do. Make sure that the voltage shown in the naza software matched what you meter shows the battery voltage at. After that make adjustments to the first and second warning levels.
     
  3. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply Ruff I neglected to say that I'd already done the calibrations.
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    that's really bizarre.
    obviously something is going on in the NAZA to make it think the voltage is lower.
    have you tried changing the failsafe levels a little bit?
     
  5. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Thanks for replying no I haven't I will give it go thank you.
     
  6. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried everything now still not working ? I'm at a loss what to do next ?

    P
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Paul, what if you start the motors but don't take off...how long until you see the red flashing light? (assuming fresh battery)
     
  8. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've not timed it but it sits quite happily on a single green until you take off? then she red lights?
     
  9. tanasit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just take off a foot off the ground and see how long it last, if several minutes then perhaps you need to adjust the voltage settings. If it lands itself in less than 30 seconds or so;

    Remove the props then start the motors to see if the RED led still come on at half stick, if so the motors or the esc is defective so much so that it pulls the voltage down to trip the low voltage RED led.
    If one or more cells in the pack are bad, then you will almost always get the RED led!

    Are you flying stock or carry video gears too?
     
  10. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which charger are you using? Do you have a battery checker that can read all three cells? Sounds like you might have unbalanced your batteries.
     
  11. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Thanks for replying I'm using the standard charger that came with it? I have a battery checker it says all batteries are good and are at 98% ?

    Regards Paul
     
  12. FlyingMonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would check to make sure that the X3 cable is plugged in from motherboard to the Naza properly.

    Also, update firmware and download and "tools" "Import settings" to reload the Phantom settings (dji.com) from the DJI Assistant.

    Do you have the H3-2D motherboard or stock motherboard from DJI?
     
  13. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you check each cell too? Make sure they're only off by 0.01 volts.
     
  14. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I'm sorry about the long delay in replying to this post,

    I've attached an image of the cell readings including the total voltage? and software report! hope this helps?

    Many thanks
    Paul
     

    Attached Files:

  15. paulbunyard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So today I received an in depth reply from DJI Support

    :eek:)
     

    Attached Files:

  16. BallisticPhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    At least it was definitive. Was that Chienglish?