Battery warning for overseas travel!

Reaction score
I returned from Europe recently and when I started unpacking I was in for a rude awakening! My 2 spare drone batteries had been removed and held by the Swiss authorities, along with my professional ENG camera battery!? I have been flying all over the world for 20 years with professional equipment and the same kinds of batteries and never an issue until now.

The drone batteries are cheap compared to the $700 Anton Bauer broadcast battery. They won't ship them back, they will store them up to a month until someone pick them up in person. Just plain nuts. They were in a professional case that is designed to fly batteries and pro equipment. Now the battery in the drone was still there. So here are the "rules":

1) Batteries can fly IF they are attached to the equipment.
2) Lose batteries cannot fly in checked luggage, even in approved cases.
3) They can fly loose or attached as carry on.

Now what sense does that possibly make? Well, this is about a $1,000 loss it appears. To go back and get them costs more than the batteries and I don't have anyone close enough to pick them up for me. Grrrr....

I flew twice earlier in the same configuration in and out of London with NO issues as usual. So be forewarned.
Carry your batteries on board with you!

Ugh... I hope you find someone who could pick it up in Europe. When I went to Florida, I boarded the plane a bit late and there was no room in the overhead bins. My P4 had to get checked in so I was a bit worried the same thing would happen to me. Anyway, this probably sounds a bit stupid but maybe you can post an ad for people near the airport and offer them some cash if they could pick it up? But then someone might steal + sell the batteries...