Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery On/Off switch?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HeliRy, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. HeliRy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, Canada.
    Has anyone ever wired and mounted an external battery switch to their Phantom? I've never liked the idea of the thing going 'live' the second the battery is plugged in and my hand isn't on the controller.
     
  2. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Other than the P2's having one built-in... no, I haven't. ;-)
     
  3. HeliRy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, Canada.
    Guess I live on the wild side with my P1 lol.
     
  4. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    134
    Risky. It takes a large, heavy, high current switch and if it fails, your Phantom falls out of the sky. Some have used jumpers made from XT60 connectors. You can wire a female connector in series with the main power wire and mount it through the body. Then you make up a male connector with a loop of wire connecting the two terminals.
    Now you can insert the battery, plug it in, close the battery door then plug in the jumper externally when you are ready to power up.
     
  5. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
  6. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    It's no different plugging the battery in than turning the switch on. Just make sure your transmitter is on.