Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery Life

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by guyatl2000, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. guyatl2000

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got a P2V - just wondering how many flights you can get out of the extender before needing to recharge. So far, I only go two flights and then recharge. Just wondering if anyone has any idea? I also have rechargeable AA's on the RC and wondering the same thing.....?

    Thanks from Atlanta
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Around 10 flights for the wifi and maybe 20 flights on the rc. I normally fly 4/6 flights before charging the wifi and I completely lose count on the RC but I always carry a fresh set of 4 Aa's with me to swap over. Your rc (tx) will start beeping when she's low on juice.
     
  3. guyatl2000

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ireland! I did not know about the RC warning signal. Does the wifi extender have an indicator as well?
     
  4. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Nope she'll just go flat, no beeps. Get a usb battery pack, I have one that will charge up 2 usb devices at once ie phone and wifi extender. It wont charge them fast like if it was plugged into the mains at home but it will keep them powered in case of an emergency. A cigarette lighter charger is another one to have, any micro usb charger that fits the likes of a samsung will do the job for the wifi. Another tip is never forget your micro sd card, im a demon even after all my flying for leaving it In my laptop, when I press record and it tells me no sd card inserted a huge facepalm always occurs. My trick then is to take the sd card from my phone or tablet and use that as a handy backup
     
  5. guyatl2000

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect! Got one of those. Did not think along those lines. THANKS!

    Happy flying!!
     
  6. guyatl2000

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more question. I often fly in a mountain area. If for example I am using the ground station feature and launch high up over a valley, does the Phantom operate at AGL (above ground level) or based on the altitude that is home or where it is launched from? IE, does AGL actually change with the terrain? My worries are that I could crash into a mountain if the Phantom does not recoginize the change of terrain.... Any thoughts?