battery life in 'standby' mode?

Reaction score
yes I am a newbie and I crashed the Phantom 2 in rough terrain. My question is how long can I expect the LED lights to be flashing before the battery dies? I had two bars with a third bar blinking and it crashed just a minute after that. I have been looking for hours and now I am hoping that when it gets dark the lights flashing will help me find it. But I don't want to wait until then if I expect the battery to die. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Ouch, hope you get it back. IIRC the drain with the motors disarmed is about 500-600mw. It's not high for such a big battery but also not significant. It can potentially last a couple of days fully charged. At 50-60% it should last 8 hours, probably a bit less once the ambient temp drops.

IME, it's really hard to notice any of the LEDs in really dense foliage. I parked my Phantom in a VERY SMALL, manicured tree in my yard once. And I knew EXACTLY where it was. And I couldn't see the LEDs through the leaves. My recent LED mod should change that significantly though, it's daylight-bright! But I'm not looking to crash it soon.

ElGuano said:
Ouch, hope you get it back. IIRC the drain with the motors disarmed is about 500-600mw. It's not high for such a big battery but also not significant. It can potentially last a couple of days fully charged. At 50-60% it should last 8 hours, probably a bit less once the ambient temp drops.

IME, it's really hard to notice any of the LEDs in really dense foliage. I parked my Phantom in a VERY SMALL, manicured tree in my yard once. And I knew EXACTLY where it was. And I couldn't see the LEDs through the leaves. My recent LED mod should change that significantly though, it's daylight-bright! But I'm not looking to crash it soon.
yes, it is gone. spent 7 hours in blackberrys, nettles, grass, and thistles that were up to 10 feet deep! nothing to show but cut up arms and a wasted day. good times!