Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery level on app and actual not the same

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by skyhighdiver, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    So after 5 flights and loads of fun it was my turn to have problems.
    Flight 6
    1. Battery full charge
    2. Wi-Fi full charge
    3. Batteries good in transmitter
    4. All updates are done
    5. Gps home lock check and green
    6. IOC off, GPS Mode IPHONE5

    Flight starts no problems after approx. 1 minute battery level goes to 14%.
    I land check battery led shows 4 lights,
    Shut down remove battery reinstall start up same situation
    Decide to set iphone5 timer for 17 minutes and go have fun
    Flight was going well but I got nervous do to all the reports of flyaway
    Land early check lights 2 green decide to go check it out
    After hooking to vision soft where my guess is confirmed battery level fine 43% screen shows 14
    Software or battery pins problem Recharge battery try again same issue make short flight and quite
    As shown in last photo.

    Please help do I need a new battery of longer pins or is this firmware issue.Dont like flying without the low battery level warning available.

    Paul Pierret
    7209 w 32 street
    Sioux Falls, SD 57106
    605 359-9311
     

    Attached Files:

  2. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    More info
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    On my latest flight I booted up the aircraft with a fresh battery and when pre-flighting I noticed the app was reporting only 43% battery. I switched off, removed and then reseated the battery, powered up again and then it showed 99%. First time I've encountered it and I had no other issues during the flight. I assumed it was a glitch and the universal IT panacea of "switch it off and then switch it on again" would sort it, which it did, unlike in your case. I'm running android and I'll keep an eye on this.
     
  4. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    After an afternoon of investigating I found that both batteries read correct on my Ipad
    And both read 14% on my iPhone strange
    Both devices are running IOS 7.0.4 and DJI 1.0.31
    Yet the screens are different
    The ipad just has satellite number and battery remaining in upper right corner
    The iPhone has battery remaining satellite number Wi-Fi signal SD card picture
    I uninstalled it on my iPhone and reinstalled with no change
    The batteries are not the problem here as ipad reads fine just phone wrong
    What the hell
     

    Attached Files:

  5. LocalWraps

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Land O' Lakes, FL
    Is it just me or did the last UPDATE for IOS suck. I lost my battery status in the app due to what looks like a overlay? anyone else get this>?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. BigPig

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Same for me! It's terrible!
     
  7. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Yup... they didn't test the update appropriately on IOS 7. I sent both their sales and marketing groups an email. Not that it'll do any good, but I'm still major pissed off about this. Everyone who loaded it has the same problem. They'll probably rush an update that'll fix this problem and create five others...

    -slinger
     
  8. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Oh this is hilarious! This is sloppy... DJI forgot to hide "taskbar background" in their build... in iOS code thats the status bar at the top of the iPhone that shows signal strength, carrier, WiFi, time, compass, alarm, Bluetooth, battery %, and battery icon. Normally its in white characters, but if you look carefully at the photos you guys posted, you can see all that stuff in black! Embarrassing.

    Who's sig said: 'Never execute code written on a Friday or a weekend, on a Monday' (w/apologies in advance if I misquoted)

    iDrone :roll:
     
  9. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
    This forum has threads warning to not load or update
    to the version 1.0.31 of DJI-Vision for iOS.
     
  10. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    In some cases, the warning came a bit late.

    -slinger
     
  11. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
    Very true, especially for those who have auto-update turned on
    (or allowed) for this app. I do not want my system and apps changing
    as a surprise, so I always (almost) set the update mode to "inform me"
    rather than "automatically update".
     
  12. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    +1 I hate bad surprises.

    iDrone
     
  13. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    All my updates are always set to "inform me", but I screwed up. (To paraphrase Otter in "Animal House") I trusted DJI. And so ends my days as an "early adopter" of DJI products, software, drivers, firmware and services.

    <---- limps to the back of the line...

    :shock: :shock: :shock:
     
  14. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    *hands you some crutches*. You should get that limp looked at. It could be a tumor. :eek: